So, I'm a smart ass! in QUOTIDIEN

  • Feb. 22, 2014, 12:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let me preface this by apologizing to my nurse friends or any nurse who is respectful and can make inquiries without condescension. The following nurse is a very poor example, IMO, of those such as yourselves.


I am. And it seems that the older I get, the less tolerance I have for fools. Now - before I share what brought this on, I believe we should pass a law that requires new converts and new nurses to take a vow of silence for at least one year while their fervor falls in balance with reason.

Purple Urine Bag Syndrome= UTI and potential kidney infection. So much bacterial overgrowth that urine stains tubing and bag purple! Proper course of action: You get a clean urine sample to the doctor ASAP.

In order to get a clean sample, I wash my hands, glove up, iodine area around stoma (hole that leads direct into bladder), remove old catheter, and throw away all contaminated materials, un-glove. I re-wash my hands, re-iodine area around stoma, insert new catheter, and allow fresh urine to drip into sterilized collection cup, which took about 30 minutes. There is no other way to get a clean sample from a bed-ridden patient.

I get to the doc's office with this sample. Receptionist calls out Nurse Never-Seen-Before, saying, 'this is the PUBS sample I told you was coming in.'

This nurse is so new, she squeaks. And I'd been to the office often enough to know she was a fresh hire.

'Yeah', she says 'never heard of it before.' Then to me, she says, 'What tchu got, there', pointing her chin towards what could only be the urine sample I brought in.

'Clean catch urine sample.'

'Uh-huh. From the collection bag.' She was contempt personified in facial expression and posture.

It was a bitchy swipe on her part, and as I stated, I no longer have the patience for fools.

'No. I said it was a clean catch sample. This means, I cleaned the stoma, then cleaned with iodine....etc. It really wouldn't make sense to take a sample from a dirty collection bag.'

She then takes on a conspiratorial tone, and while rolling her eyes she throws her own profession under the bus, 'You would be surprised at how many nurses don't know that.'

I offered up a demure smile while slipping on my gloves,and said 'Well, you see, dear...I'm not a nurse.'


Pintador February 22, 2014

I already knew you were underpaid, but when I see some of the details of your care giving, I am even more convinced. I didn't know your duties were quite this...up close n' personal. If I were D, I'd be convincing my husband to pay whatever you need to stay. Who would want to change horses in the middle of this stream??

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 22, 2014

oh, my goodness! yeah, they should take a vow of silence for at least a year. take care,

GypsyWynd February 22, 2014

Zing!

NorthernSeeker February 23, 2014

She is lucky she had you for a patient and not somebody more unforegiving.

MJ's Page NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 23, 2014

I was never her patient.

NorthernSeeker MJ's Page ⋅ February 23, 2014

I tried to understand what you were saying here, and obviously I misjudged! Sorry.

MJ's Page NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 23, 2014

It's okay. I'm a patient advocate. I was dropping off a sample for my patient.

The nurse was rude, and I was at the end of my patience.

memelou February 24, 2014

I think its pretty funny. I'm pretty sure I learned how to get sample on one of my first day of class. Some older nurses get this God complex like if you haven't been a nurse for 30+ years, you can't possibly know what you are doing. We have to have conferences on nurse to nurse bullying.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.