Dementia Journal, April 20, 2019 in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • April 20, 2019, 9:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Things are getting harder and harder. I can’t bear to think of it, but I see Mom entering the last stage. I’m thinking more frequently of Hospice, particularly as I believe I’ll soon need a nurse or health professional to come in and check on Mom and advise me how to best ease her various discomforts. Mostly she sleeps all day in a very deep, profound state of sleep and wakens in early evening to begin the ceaseless talking and repetition of questions and statements that almost drive me mad some nights. This is the “Sundowner Syndrome,” wherein she gets very anxious, agitated and confused.

Last night I felt like pulling my hair out. She started calling out for her Mama and Daddy, over and over again with increasing urgency. I have to tell her they are not here, they are in Heaven. “You mean they died?” She’ll ask yet again. “Well I thought I could call to them and they’ll come down here.” (That was the first time she’d said that). So I’m trying to discover the meaning in these statements, which in many ways can make a lot of sense when you consider her state of mind.

“Mama! Daddy! I’m dying. Come help me!” Over and over as if she was alone and I was not even there. Can you imagine how I’m feeling where she keeps saying this? If I don’t respond in some fashion she’ll repeat this louder and louder as if she’s truly convinced no one is in the room and she’s all alone, whereas I’m sitting right next to her on the sofa. Last night this went on for four hours. I had to give her an Ativan tablet which I hate to do, but it’s to preserve my sanity as well as calm her down. After about an hour she was a bit more relaxed and could focus somewhat on her Bible verses. The other night she was calling out so much I could hardly eat supper which I usually try to do by 11 o’clock since I’m going to be up most of the night. I can barely read or accomplish anything on nights when I don’t have a home aide. I lamented to my brother about this last night, expressing how much reading, writing and working on my photography I wanted to do but couldn’t. Even when I have someone helping me at night the time goes by so quickly I still can’t get much done.

Almost every meal now Mom has to be fed (baby food almost exclusively). She’s having a harder time swallowing. I have to crush all her pills now and put them in a spoonful of apple sauce. It had gotten to the point where she almost choked swallowing a 325 mg aspirin she takes as a blood thinner so I have to crush four baby aspirin and give it to her that way in apple sauce.

Her incontinence is getting worse. It’s so difficult and time consuming cleaning her that she’s getting more rashes and skin irritations. Her bedside table is covered with various tubes of creams and ointments. I think of Mom as she was years ago and can’t even imagine she and I going through all this. It begins to seem surreal.

As I told my sister last night, the reason I can endure this is, first, a deep and abiding love for the person who brought me into this world and raised me with minimum of help from my father. And second, because I’ve experienced so much adversity and depression all through my life, I am steeled to the present prolonged period of adversity, an unexpected descent into the netherworld of dementia. More and more Mom seems lost and never sure of where she is. The other night in her confused state she was convinced she and I were somewhere other than home. She felt her sisters and my father would be worried that we had not returned home and that we needed to call them. All three passed away many years ago but to Mom the past and present are one and the future is not something she can even imagine. In other words, she has no conception of time, place and who either of us are except when I try to explain these things to her. She seems to grasp it somewhat then.

Mom has several frog figurines. One of them we named Freddie.

“Who’s that little man?” Mom asked last night.

“That’s Freddie the frog,” I replied. She smiled. Mom always liked to collect frog figurines for her gardens.

About an hour later Mom asked, “Who are you?

“Guess,” I replied.

Mom had a moment of complete bewilderment. She couldn’t think of who I was.

Finally, she blurted our, “You’re Freddie.”

“Mom, who’s Freddie?” Then I realized she was referring to the frog.

“I’m your son, Mom. Do I look like a frog?”

We both laughed. Mom still has a sense of humor, thank God.


Sabrina-Belle April 21, 2019

It sounds so hard for you and so exhausting. Is there no one who could take over for the odd night so that you can get some rest or is there any possibility of respite just for a few days? You are coping incredibly well but you need your rest.

Marg April 22, 2019

I can totally understand your thought process at this time as she comes to the end of 'the third act'. You need to think of self-preservation as well as her comfort and a hospice would be the ideal situation. I'm so grateful for the one Mum ended up in at the end - they were so caring and smoothed that passage from one world to the next for her. It took the heat off my sister and let her breathe for a bit as well.

mcbee April 22, 2019

"i think of Mom as she was years ago and can’t even imagine she and I going through all this. It begins to seem surreal." Heartbreaking and yet something many of us face with out parents.

Newzlady April 22, 2019

There’s no shame in admitting it’s time for the next level. You’ve gone above and beyond.

Kristi1971 April 23, 2019

I think you are right. Don't be afraid or nervous to call in Hospice. Most people think that hospice is a place, or they think that hospice only comes in the last few days of someone's life. The fact is that hospice is so often under-utilized and hospice care is given in so many ways.

She definitely qualifies for hospice now. Now that I think of it, she has probably qualified for some time now. Hospice is for the whole family, too...not just for your mom. Hospice is amazing. They were for my Nana. My mom promised my Nana that she would never go into a "home". She would be able to stay in her home for the rest of her life, no matter what. Hospice came in every day to help with my Nana I would say for the last year of her life.

I know that one day I will be in your shoes. I will one day have the opportunity to provide care to my Mom. And - like you, I know my life's adversities are preparing me in the same way as you were prepared. Life has a way of doing that for us.

MageB April 23, 2019

Yes, it is time to call around to nursing homes and hospices. I completely understand how you aree feeling pro and con.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.