Then and Now in Grandma and me

  • Feb. 21, 2014, 9:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo snooppepe030104_zpsa49dd657.jpg

Me Thur 2/19/2004

Im going to have to be up early tomorrow. We had to work 2 hours of mandatory overtime this week, and Ive managed to work exactly ZERO hours so I;ll have to get to work by 6.30 tomorrow. Speaking of work Annoying Trainee is driving me nuts. Every time she finds something she thinks Sara has done wrong she has to tell me about it. Frankly I dont care,

Yay for me! I had a list of errands I wanted to do tonight, and Viv couldn't wait until I got off work to go to Curves so I was going to blow off Curves and start my shopping. Then I checked my checkbook balance and when it said I only had 11 bucks I decided I better save my shopping for another day. :) Thankfully tomorrow is pay day.

Me Frid 2/20/2004

Im trying to get back into genealogy, and as a first step I was going to try to contact a distant relative who I had shared information with before. He has a very unusual name so I did a google search on him. Turns out this guy I had been working with is a CEO of a huge company that had donated 60 thousand dollars to a local college. 30 thousand was the guys own money. I feel kind of silly that I was working with him thinking he was an equal when really he could afford to hire experts to assist him with the genealogy and didn't need my help. Then again I know that I made the breakthrough that found another generation to add to our tree, and I also unwittingly had the information he needed to solve a puzzle in his branch of the tree.

It also made me think about the whole nature vs nurture debate. 150 years ago his however many greats grandpa and mine were brothers farming in Kentucky. Now his branch has a wealthy CEO and my branch only has two people who even graduated college. Is it just luck?

I wish my mom was home so I could tell her. Back when I was really into genealogy she had to hear about him every time she talked to me. Her and my dad went to see my crazy aunt in Mesquite.

I did make it into work at 6.30 and worked my two hours of mandatory overtime. If we have to work overtime next week Im not going to wait until the last minute to do it. I was exhausted and fighting to stay awake. Towards the end of the day I entertained myself by looking up webcams for cats. Someday I want to have a Figaro web cam. All Figaro... All The time. :)

Me Saturday - 2/21/2004

Kind of a boring Saturday. I got up early (for me) so I could meet Vivi at Curves by 9.30. This coming Friday will be our month anniversary and it will also be the day they measure and weigh us to see how well we have done. Im kind of nervous since I never did cut back on the calories as I had planned on doing. I still feel skinnier though so I hope Ive lost some inches. Im going to try to diet next week so the scale will maybe show a little lost. As long as I lose even one or two pounds a month I will be happy. I know its helping my blood sugar. It kept going down all last week!

After Curves I went to the library to do some genealogy. You would think in the four years since Ive been into genealogy that they would have acquired some new materials but I didn't find anything new. :( I think Im going to have to realise I have taken it as far back as I can go. I cant spend useless time in libraries reading material Ive already read. Ive even thought I would like to do someone elses genealogy just so I could still dig in the old records. Most other people though don't even know the basics to give you a good start to their genealogy.

I also checked out some new books that the library had been holding and then came home and started reading Love In THe Time of Cholera that one of my favorites here recommended. I like it but I feel asleep while reading it and didnt wake up until 7 PM! Im surprised the cats didnt wake me with demands for dinner way before that.

 photo snoopfig00_zpsecffe5b4.jpg

Me Friday 02-21-2014

Wow I cant believe that ten years ago I was calling my Dad’s sister crazy. In the ten years since I wrote that she has taken crazy to a whole nother level. In 2011 she was going through a messy divorce and she had stolen money from her husband. The judge finally got tired of her lies and evasions and told her to be back at court in an hour with the money or to be ready to be taken into custody. Instead she showed up at my cousins house with a gun threatening to shoot her husband and if my cousin got in her way threatening to shoot her own son. The police showed up and took her into custody. She pleaded no contest but only had to serve 2 years in jail. At one point you could see her mug shot on the internet but I cant find it now.

I’m also finding it humorous I had a hard time getting 2 hours of mandatory overtime. For the last six months I’ve had to do at least six hours OT every week and this week I have to do eight. So I’m going to be spending yet another Saturday morning at work tomorrow.

I only had one cat to take care of tonight at Petsmart. His name is Adrian and he is a Boy look alike. Only he is way smarter than Boy. You could just see the wheels turning in his head. I was playing with him and it wouldn't take him long to decide a game was boring and he wanted me to come up with something else.

Good Things I did for me

Didn't overreact when I saw that I had gained ½ a pound. I ate alot of soup with alot of sodium Wednesday and I had a couple of days where I was slightly over on my calories for the day

Worked out with Angie

Ran 2 miles in the morning and 2 miles in the evening.

 photo snoop031905_zps7df1e785.jpg


eolhsand February 22, 2014

I'm always impressed and humbled when I read about your workout regimen. I don't have the mental fortitude to work out as frequently as you do.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 22, 2014

your aunt is some kind of crazy. i'm guessing she's out of jail now? if she is, does that worry anyone? your workout is way too much for me to even consider. i'm happy when i can walk 30 minutes on the treadmill or one mile whichever comes first. take care,

Squidobarnez February 22, 2014

you are rockin' it!

PB-buddy-huggies

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.