The best rockstar ever... in Prosebox Desert Island Discs

  • Feb. 21, 2014, 3:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Everyone's been leaving notes on my choices, but nobody's shared their own... Feel free to join in!

Okay, so this one is the most awe inspiring rockstar... The only person ever to have left me starstuck (and bear in mind I've met a lot of very famous people - Snow Patrol, Oasis, Bob Dylan, Cat Stevens, Foo Fighters, Biffy Clyro etc.) is this fabulous woman: Miki Berenyi.

Yeah - I can hear you going "WHO?" So here she is in all her fabulous flame haired brilliance. Miki fronted Camden based band Lush who packaged perfect indie pop into cute little singles in the 90s alongside raven haired Emma, drummer Chris and bass guitarist Phil. It was unusual to see girls with guitars back then - or if they had them it was some cynical ploy to get on the front of NME so the lads could go PWHOAR! But Miki was the brains behind this band and although her guitar playing isn't that great, she was the songwriter. She was not selling sex, she was selling her soul... It's all there if you dig into the earlier stuff and not just their slam-dunk hit album Lovelife.

If I could be one person it is Miki. I had many attempts at getting my hair the same colour as hers, but man is it hard to get it that red and keep it from fading to dirty pink. I have a sparkly shift dress which I shall never part with simply because it so epitomises that age.

So when I stumbled into meeting her backstage at a festival, I was truly starstruck. A friend of mine shoved me into her way and she was just so cool... A lot of the time when I meet famous people, they are just normal people or act like complete knobs. She was neither - she was super lovely but totally ethereal, and I do have a picture! It's filed away in one of my photo albums as obviously this was pre digital age!


Darcy0207 from OD February 21, 2014

For me... just because I had a chance to kiss those lips... Steve Tyler.

Camdengirl Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ February 21, 2014

Ooohh... Now that I am jealous of! That's a proper rockstar!

Deleted user February 21, 2014

didn't robin guthrie of cocteau twins produce a few lush LPs? i have their discography but i haven't give it much shrift. i love cocteau twins though, but my favorite rockstar is probably trey anastasio of phish. nerdy as all get out of an answer but i'm sticking to my guns.

Camdengirl Deleted user ⋅ February 21, 2014

There's a theme here... Clearly PBers have discerning ears. Not a Robbie Williams track to be found!

Robin did indeed - and a few years later I worked with him at the Evil Corporation. I must admit his stuff didn't really float my boat. I think I might have been a bit young to appreciate it and it was of its time rather than timeless.

Deleted user Camdengirl ⋅ February 21, 2014

what's your opinion of elastica? hope this doesn't offend but miki comes across as a female damon albarn in the track you posted. i have a feeling i would like their earlier shoegazing stuff more.

Deleted user February 21, 2014

here's video of trey goin' off: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1w3aA7ClgM start at 5:54 if you're impatient, that's when the improvisation begins. and by the way, it's real, and it's spectacular!

Etoile Filante February 22, 2014

For me, always, David Bowie.

Herzog February 23, 2014

Oh wow, somebody else remembers Lush! Very underrated band with a sad ending. My favourite acts tend to be a result of amazing live performances and are very cultish and unknown now: Jon Spencer, Ian Svenonius, Redd Kross, Will Oldham (met in person - very unusual looking guy, but v. intellegent), Neutral Milk Hotel, Teenage Fanclub, Cat Power. The most famous I met personally were Green Day, standing in line at a Canberra supermarket. Most unusual meeting was with your Scottish compatriots Arab Strap -spastically drunk while the pub kitchen that was supposedly cooking my dinner was on fire behind me.

Camdengirl Herzog ⋅ February 24, 2014

Yeah Aidan and the boys are really good at drinking! Don't challenge them to a booze fest...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.