clearly our weather is suffering from bipolar disorder in shiny things

  • Feb. 21, 2014, 9:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Especially today. It was quite temperate when I left for work this morning -- like nearly 50! But it was pouring rain. POURING. At 10:30 I had to hike across campus for a meeting. The temperature had dropped nearly 20 degrees... and it was snowing. Since I'd left for work in a much milder weather pattern, I'd skipped my usual down jacket + down vest (that I usually wear all day because it's like Antarctica in here), and just wore a light raincoat. So on the plus side, didn't get wet; on the minus side, froze. Solid.

By 2:00 the sun was out, and again it was nearly 50. WTF, Weather??!! Right now there's not a cloud in the sky, and the sun is in fact blazing through my window, making me think I really need to bring some sunscreen in for these late afternoons, at least until the trees get their leaves and block the sun.

Basically, since 7 this morning, it has poured rain, been nearly 50 degrees, dropped down to 30 degrees, poured snow, went back up to nearly 50 degrees, and became cloudless and sunny. Oh, it was quite windy early too. Not now. It's like a week of weather rolled into 8 hours.

I do think we are actually in for a pleasant weekend, though, which is REALLY exciting. After all these massively unpleasant weeks, and weekends spent totally inside, I could SO use a pleasant weekend. We all could.

Of course this could not be the end of our horrid winter...word on the street is the Polar Blast is returning next week. I'd never even heard of a Polar Blast until this winter, and this will be our THIRD Polar Blast. It's been the coldest winter on record for us so far. And one of the least snowy, I think, despite our blizzard last week.

And speaking of the blizzard, I'll post some pictures of the walk Baker B and I took at the Viaduct last Sunday. When it actually warmed up enough to at least poke our heads out of the house. The Viaduct is a very impressive bridge up on the Parkway, that goes around Grandfather Mountain and is kind of alarmingly suspended out in space. Ordinarily you can't walk over it, but when the Parkway is closed for snow it's open for walkers.

It is absolutely gorgeous up there. Even in the winter. The views are breathtaking.

enter image description here

enter image description here

That's Baker B way up the road. I was having trouble with my camera settings and told him to stop glaring impatiently and go on. Oddly enough, this was the ONLY spot where it was all that snowy. Despite our 10 inches or so.

enter image description here

There were cross country skiers everywhere. I have never seen so many cross country skiers. I've actually never seen more than a couple around here period-- we don't normally have the kind of snow that is conducive to cross country skiing. And this snow was not one of the conducive ones, at least not by Sunday when it had melted off. But apparently the cross country skiers did not get the "not conducive" memo, because they were absolutely everywhere. In fact, Baker B and I and one other guy were the ONLY walkers. Everyone else was skiing. Or trying to.

enter image description here

That picture there is about as good as it got for the skiers. Mostly they were either shuffling along in a path of snow maybe a foot wide, or giving up and taking their skis off and walking. We felt very smug. It looked like no fun at ALL.

Here's a whole bunch of them, annoyed and snowless.

enter image description here

We were passing them all by, and they were giving us "DAMN I wish I was walking!!" looks.

enter image description here

That's another bridge- not as big and impressive as the Viaduct.

enter image description here

I'm jumping all around confusingly. This one IS the Viaduct:

enter image description here

enter image description here

A huge black bird posed for me. We thought it was a raven, but Noko will know for sure what it is -

enter image description here

Even the bare, usually-depressing trees are gorgeous:

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

Okay, enough. I have got to catch up reading -- apparently everyone has been energized by the Death of OD; I had SIXTY ONE updated bookmarks yesterday!! It's good, though, to see so much activity. I'll just never catch up!


Darcy0207 from OD February 21, 2014

Beautiful pictures! I'll take mountains over beaches any day.

edna million Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ February 22, 2014

Right now I'd totally go for the beach!

Lyn February 21, 2014

Crazy Winter weather. Yours is certainly bipolar. Yesterday here it was upper 60s, next week polar blast expected back. Gah.

Love the pictures. The first one may be my favorite.

seafarer February 21, 2014

Your pics are lovely (but I'll take snow at the ocean any day over the mountains!) It does make for lovely scenery though!! We've had bi-polar weather here too..... I'm so ready for spring.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 21, 2014

there has to be an end to this winter. it was sleeting this morning, then, it got up to about 40 and rain. just a couple minutes ago, i saw lightning and then thunder. the weather is definately bipolar right now. i'm so tired of this. just waiting for spring. take care,

edna million Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ February 22, 2014

ME.TOO. This winter has just been grueling all around.

Justlovely February 22, 2014

I'm surprised You haven't become bipolar from all of it. I love the curvy road shots. I'm always trying to catch long curvy stretches like that.

Marg February 22, 2014

That bridge is amazing. I love the way the trees stand out so starkly when they're bare like that - there's something about the light in winter especially in the twilight hours which makes everything seem beautiful.

It's strange how the 'fresh start' on here seems to have galvanised everyone into action isn't it? Nice to see though difficult to keep up with!

noko February 22, 2014

How cool to not only get out on foot with the camera but a bonus that it is somewhere you don't normally get to walk. Love it when that happens. Not worth the crazy weather though. Wow. That is a gorgeous raven in that snag. (Dead trees = snag in Birder lingo.) You can tell by the beak. It is more substantial than a crow's. Plus ravens like to hang out solitary like that in beautiful mountain locales. That first pictures is just stunning. Wow. Such a nice contrast to your fall foliage shots.

noko February 22, 2014

I'm having trouble keeping up here too. I guess it was a weird side benefit of the dysfunctional diary that so few people could actually get on and post, we got used to sort of being caught up reading. Now it is just a world of... guilt!

Spinster February 23, 2014

note to self when I go visit Edna go in the Spring or Fall. Everything looks so brown there now.

edna million Spinster ⋅ February 23, 2014

YES. It really really is. I am trying to see the positives of winter.. but there really are not that many positives. Time for summer now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.