Mirrors on the ceiling, pink champagne on ice in Site Updates

  • Feb. 21, 2014, 12:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Some people might be starting to think that Prosebox is actually Hotel California. You know, you can check out any time you like but... you can NEVER LEAVE.

So I've added one of those necessary features that most of you probably haven't spent much time thinking about, but like a parachute it's nice to have in case you need to bail.

In the far right bottom corner of the Settings page is now a very ominous button with the label "DELETE PROSEBOX ACCOUNT". If you click it, you will receive a warning that you're about to permanently and irreversibly delete your Prosebox account and all of its content. And that's exactly what it does.

So there you go.

Now if you'll excuse me, I need to go prepare the feast to be served in the master's chambers.


missing maui February 21, 2014

Um, thanks? I guess? :) I love this place and never intend to leave, unless forced.

Deleted user February 21, 2014

Spilledperfume February 21, 2014

Have a great weekend.

Krud February 21, 2014

What is that warm smell? Colitas?

banker chick Krud ⋅ February 21, 2014

Rising up through the air?

eolhsand banker chick ⋅ February 22, 2014

KILL THE BEAST.

Now I'm doubly cool.

synapse February 21, 2014

Thank you for your hard work!

Figuring It Out February 21, 2014

I had to use that button over at OD once. Only once. It was a terrifying situation.

Glad to know that emergency button is available! !

Deleted user February 21, 2014

Just out of curiosity, does anyone know what account numbers will be considered "early adopters"?

Cat Mommy Deleted user ⋅ February 22, 2014

From what I've read it's 2-100 (SM is 1) and we're called Prosebox Pioneers. :)

Deleted user Cat Mommy ⋅ February 22, 2014

That's awesome! Thank you!

I am hoping to get into EWS's site as an early adopter :)

Cat Mommy Deleted user ⋅ February 22, 2014

You might want to request to be a beta tester then because he's doing closed beta testing. Here it's open beta testing. We won't know how many are already on the site until he launches it.

Camdengirl February 21, 2014

Do you mean you don't intend to sell our musings after we abandon accounts under a critical Terms of Business small print buried under page 17 of the contract? LOL!

simple mind Camdengirl ⋅ February 21, 2014

Sadly, my intentions are not nearly so nefarious. Exposing people to annoying ads is about as evil as I get. ;)

haredawg drools February 21, 2014

Awww shoot, I'm always wrong I thought prosebox was Stairway to heaven.

haredawg drools February 21, 2014

No, if you'll excuse me while I kiss the sky ... oh. Wait. No. That's Hairway to Steven.

Deleted user haredawg drools ⋅ February 21, 2014

I think Prosebox is "Whiter Shade of Pale".

haredawg drools Deleted user ⋅ February 21, 2014

You have a point, it might be tuned to different dials like geographically, for instance;

I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

The future's uncertain and the end is always near

Yet, the Box wasn't Roadhouse Blues when I signed on, the box was Gate Mouth Brown covering Robert Johnson, either Dust my Broom or Evil Woman, hard to tell on the harmonica. In the Fine State of Utah it was obviously an Eagles tune, but, I could have sworn the box was standing on a corner in Winslow Arizona with seven women on it's mind.

simple mind haredawg drools ⋅ February 21, 2014

Pure poetry.

Vilos Cohaagen February 21, 2014

That should come in handy.

•kitkat• February 21, 2014

Dislike? Yes. Dislike. I mean, the function is now good to have, but the thought of deleting my Pb...dislike.

.Java.Junkie. •kitkat• ⋅ February 24, 2014

Right!!! lol

banker chick February 21, 2014

Please bring me my wine.

Mum of Yum banker chick ⋅ February 21, 2014

We haven't had that spirit here since 1969...

Etoile Filante February 21, 2014

plays air guitar and gently tosses hair whilst biting lower lip

Starhawk February 21, 2014

Master's chambers, check. Feast, check. Steely knives, check.

...where the hell is my beast?

Deleted user February 21, 2014

"They stabbed it with their steely knives, but they just can't kill the beast!"

BentnotBroken February 21, 2014

We are all just prisoners here,of our own device......

A. Nony Mouse February 21, 2014

I absolutely love that this became a sing-a-long. I'd sing too but now I got stage fright.

I haven't said it before so I'll say it now ...thank you so very much for this place.

Butterfly4Him February 21, 2014

I almost got the feeling you are talking about us OD'ers, whom kinda got dumped out of our world, and are now submerging into yours. I know it is NOT the Hotel California, it's more like The Lights Are Always On IN Massechusetts, lmbo!!!!!! J/K. Well, this note sounds rude, and I do NOT in any way, mean it in a rude way. It's just that is what ran through my mind, when I was reading it. Sorry.

Deleted user February 21, 2014

I did not know that PB was Hotel California because the thought of leaving never never never once crossed my mind, but now I'm happy to think of it as mine (and a lot of other people's) fav Eagles song because, yeah, it's catchy, you know? Not to be such a big nerdy dweeb or anything. I seriously don't listen to much of the Eagles, lol.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ February 21, 2014

Yeah, I don't listen to the Eagles a lot myself. I got a little burned out on them when my dad wanted to watch nothing but their live concert video for about a month. But they still rock. :)

HolyCowItIsMe February 21, 2014

Nash February 21, 2014

Its like a DNR order.

Kimber February 21, 2014

Hey pretty, pretty boy. Wanna be my friend?

simple mind Kimber ⋅ February 21, 2014

:D (it actually took me a minute to figure that one out, oddly enough)

Kimber simple mind ⋅ February 21, 2014

After I posted it, I belatedly wondered how many people would think I was a shameless hussy :)

crafty_tori February 21, 2014

I love this entry and where some of its comments have headed.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 21, 2014

can't imagine ever using that box. i'm here for the long haul. take care,

Deleted user February 21, 2014

It's good to have that option available, much like the "Emergency Stop - Never Use" lever from Spaceballs. May it be a seldom (if ever) used function of the site.

Deleted user February 21, 2014

I have about a dozen "test" PB unused diaries which need deleting. Thanks for this feature. Because now I only need two (diaries).

Ps: a dozen? No. Last count was 4. Or 5.

Ps2: god I love The Eagles. And Hotel California. :)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ February 21, 2014

In that case, you can be my deletion tester. Since I've not actually used it in production it will be good to verify it's successful.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ February 21, 2014

Will do so. I exaggerated earlier. There are 3 diaries, 1 test diary and two primarily significant diaries. So I will only delete the unused one. :)

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ February 21, 2014

It's really gone. That diary started with "L" was deleted successfully.

Justlovely February 21, 2014

FAVORITE band of all time; hands down. There is no other favorite.

Leanne 🌈 February 21, 2014

Garnys February 21, 2014

Duly noted, though it seems unlikely that shall ever be needed :D

NFL Girl February 21, 2014

I only used that feature once on that other dead site, and that was right before it went down. I hope this diary will be here for at least as long as I was there (13 years) and then some.

Jaebella February 21, 2014

I wish there was a vegetarian option. I hate the thought of stabbing the beast with my steely knife...I've heard it just can't be killed!

Deleted user February 22, 2014

I really don't care about deleting my diary. Thanks anyway.

How about exporting the diary in a decent text, xml, or even better a PDF format?

Also, my persistence request to import a journal backup from OD? :-)

=bernard= February 22, 2014

Thanks for the option and thank you also for providing a site for people to write and share their lives with others. I like others hope I never have to delete my diary.

middle age pearl February 22, 2014

I've never thanked you for creating this site for us "OD Survivors" so I will now. Thank you so much for allowing all of us a place to go to keep in contact with our old friends and make new ones. I am very grateful to you and have no intentions of using the new addition. But like has been mentioned earlier, there is that option if needed.

Loki February 22, 2014

  • NO. Never. Going. To. Happen. I will bring Ragnarok upon any that leave.....
OneSassyLadyNKY February 23, 2014

You can just remove that feature from my account. I have no intentions of using it, ever. :)

Linda February 23, 2014

Love the new look. I hope I never have to use this feature, but I hoped that about OD too.

Moglie americana February 23, 2014

Yes addictive like OD was!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon February 23, 2014

I won't be using that parachute.

Ditch Witch February 23, 2014

you cant get rid of us....

jamez February 24, 2014

I wonder if there such a button on the ‘Prism’ site, not that I want to flush Prism, being a positive sort I wondered if I were to lose a treasured e-mail; could I ask them if I could have a copy ….

J.E. February 24, 2014

Are we gonna have champagne on ice?

H. Majesty T. Mudfish Queen February 25, 2014

Wait. I thought you WERE the MASTER?????

Aww now I will have that dang song in my head for the rest of the week........

What a damn good song though.

offmychest February 27, 2014

hopefully I will never have to use it but that's what I thought about OD.

RosesAreRed February 28, 2014

Haha, that's so cute! :)

MemoryFails March 07, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.