My wife and I sleep in separate rooms in Testing.... testing... 1, 2, 3...

  • Feb. 21, 2014, 1:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My wife and I have not slept in the same bed since my son was born over 7 weeks ago! It's not for bad reasons, it's just something we realized and we joke about. It's because of my son we don't do so. In fact he's actually taken over my side of the bed! Haha

We've learned that in order for us to get some decent sleep (more than 2 hours) we'd take turns taking care of the baby. My time with him would be limited because I can't produce breast milk so I could only watch him for as many feedings (started off every 2-3 hours, then 3-4) as my wife has left in the fridge

The tv sitcom routine of both parents sleeping in the bed and then only one gets out of bed when the baby cries does not work for us. Our overly sensitive ears right now (because we're first time parents, so always worried) doesn't let us rest when the baby cries or makes any noise really. So she sleeps in the bedroom, I'm out with the baby in the living room or up in my man cave or in his nursery. Her ears are more sensitive than mine (mother love!) so I try to get as far away from earshot as possible so she can rest, haha

Even when we go to my mom's, we'll nap in separate rooms. This is because, as my mom pointed out, we'd converse about the baby or other happenings in life since we'll have a break from the boy. And that means no sleeping, so that ruins the opportunity of free sleep while our son is with his grandparents!

moral of the story: At the beginning, every noise he makes had me jump up to look if he's okay. After learning he makes noises a lot during sleep, if I'm napping and notice he hasn't made a noise I jump up to look if he's okay. A parent cannot rest unless they know their child is okay! :P

Have a Nice Day!


Jersey_Mama February 21, 2014

Me and my fiance sleep in seperate rooms too, for different reasons but not bad ones. I have severe sleep apena and other jaw related issues going on and I keep everyone awake. Plus I go to bed much early and he likes a tv on and I don't. Lots of reasons but for the past year it's been great. We are all happier people when we are well rested.

•kitkat• February 21, 2014

My Ex and I did that for a while. Before he was put on a CPAP machine for sleep apnea, he would snore so loud to the point that I couldn't physically sleep in the same room with him. So we slept in separate rooms. When our son was born 2 years ago, we slept in separate rooms then, too. He couldn't get up and do midnight feedings since I was breastfeeding and he needed his sleep for work.

Foley is Good! •kitkat• ⋅ February 21, 2014

My best friend's dad would have to sleep on the couch because of his snoring. It's been that way since our college days, so almost a decade. I fear that never happens to me! Although my couch is comfy, haha

Have a Nice Day!

Deleted user February 21, 2014

 I make my own iced coffee.ha i could imagine a baby
 Would change sleep patterns. Keep doin what works!
  Have good weekend!
Deleted user February 21, 2014

Another reason why I would never have a child. What a pain! Sleep is precious to me. LOL

Foley is Good! Deleted user ⋅ February 24, 2014

Haha, that has been the hardest transition for me. Never take for granted the luxury of sleep! :P

Have a Nice Day!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.