Nottingham in Diary

  • April 9, 2019, 5:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So after the hell of Friday, we had our trip to Nottingham to look forward to. Friday was a looooong day. Dave went to the doctor at 8:30am and was finally discharged from hospital at 7:30pm after loads of blood tests, scans, ultrasounds, chest x-rays, ECGs. I’ve never had Harrison on my own for that long, especially on a day when we had no baby classes to go to as Dave is normally around on a Friday and we do things as a family. So we were just in the house all day long, waiting for news while Harrison went mad with boredom. We weren’t even allowed to go down and visit Dave at the hospital; I did try but we got kicked out due to the risk of infection in children. But he’s now got his painkillers and anti inflammatories and is on the mend. It was a worrying time!

Anyway, Saturday morning came and we rushed down to the car dealership to pick up Dave’s new car as we were meant to go on Friday. Then I had to pack mine and Harrison’s overnight bags, rush over to drop him off with his Nanny, explain to Dave’s parents exactly what happened on Friday, drive to Nottingham and meet my friends for lunch in time for the 1pm table booking. It was a lot of rushing around but we managed to get there only five minutes late!

It was great to catch up with everyone, it’s been over a year since I last saw them. Me and Dave went to the national justice museum between lunch and evening drinks, then checked into the hotel, got ready and went for a night on the town. There was a huge group of us and we had a great time, but everyone was going home early and, by midnight, there was only me and Dave left! In times gone by, we would have been out dancing at Rock City until 3am!

Anyway I suppose it’s a good job we were back fairly early. I was looking forward to a full night of uninterrupted sleep for the first time in eight months, but Dave got up to go to the toilet twice in the night, 3am saw me squeezing milk into the bathroom sink from my painfully engorged breasts (very dignified) and then Dave was up for the day at 7am, so I had less than five hours sleep!

We got back to pick up Harrison and apparently he only woke up ONCE in the night, with a five hour stretch either side of this wake up. I’m glad he was settled and happy, but why can’t he sleep like this for us?? The last few nights, he’s been squirming, rolling around, kicking and punching me, “talking” and moaning, all in his sleep, as well as waking up three or four times for feeding and cuddles! These episodes can go on for two hours at a time, so I’m back to sleep deprived days of when he was newborn. Urgh, I wish he would go to sleep in his cot, I can’t go on like this!

Mam and dad came to visit yesterday on their drive down to south Spain. We went for a nice walk in the park and had dinner in Wetherspoons. Harrison was a bit wary of them at first, but then happily went to them for cuddles, which is nice, as he’s been clingy with me lately, even refusing to go to his own dad. My dad was amazed how much Harrison has changed since he last saw him. He said he’s like a little boy now instead of a baby, lol :-) they’re on the ferry now for a day and a half, docking in Bilbao, then another day’s driving down to their apartment in Murcia.

My “keeping in touch” days at work have been approved, so my first day back is 26th June, and I’m going to be doing one or two days a week for a couple of months before going back properly. Exciting and scary! Everything has changed since I was last there so I’m going to be like the new girl all over again, eep!


Camdengirl April 09, 2019

Ah Rock City... Many dodgy nights in there as a young A&R rep... Fun!!!

~Twinkle~ April 09, 2019

Ah days at home with no classes can be so long! Tom leaves here at 530 and isn’t home till 715ish so we have long days which is why I try to get out every day otherwise we both go a bit mad! Glad you had a good time away and that Dave is on the mend x

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ April 09, 2019

That’s a very long day! You and Tom must both be exhausted by the end of the day!

~Twinkle~ Bomb Shell ⋅ April 09, 2019

Yes, so thankful Luke sleeps ok!

Lucretia April 10, 2019

Haha, oh man Rock City! I think the last time I was there it was for A Perfect Circle. Long time ago. Sounds like you had fun x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.