Easily Distracted (A Poem) in Short Stories And Poetry

  • Feb. 20, 2014, 7:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Easily Distracted By Randall Stuart

Blue trees in a silver terrain This world isn’t good enough for me I walk through miles of seemingly dead Only to find that they are fighting to breath

I want to run from the hurt and the wounded But instead I find myself reaching out my hands They take my hand and I lift them up Before me stands a mighty army

I want to move beyond this world of pain But the soldiers have made me one of them A warrior in a battle that has long since ended I march, grieved, towards a city that is no more

We stand before an enemy that is old and crippled Their white flag is no match for our bloodied swords That slaughter is great but we are the ones hurt Their white flag was a match for our bloodied swords

Amidst the carnage I decided to go home I lift myself off of the ground and walk away The house has the warm glow of candlelight My beloved was waiting, and I forgot the milk again


Disclaimer: This story is the property of Randall Stuart. It has been copyrighted. Anyone using this without his permission will face legal action.**


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.