Upstairs in General

  • April 5, 2019, 6:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In 1995 I was just out of the fleet. Working for the Commodore at the wing. I wrote at least a dozen instructions in that two years, between the Bosnia conflict and 7 months in Italy.

It always cracked me up. I would edit and edit and edit. Then my boss would say “Send it upstairs.”

We worked in a WWII bomb shelter.

Upstairs was where the Commodore’s administrative staff, his Chief Staff Officer and the Commodore spent their time.

I was a fleet lieutenant, as salty as they come. I turned 33 that year. These days I see 33 year olds as not much more than babies.

The Fatigue Life Expenditure Instruction is still used at the Naval Aviation Safety School. An example of how to handle a problem.

My name is nowhere on that instruction.


Deleted user April 05, 2019

That is too bad :-(

woman in the moon April 05, 2019

My brother was talking about the teaching he did in the Navy. Safety stuff I think. Fires, floods.

gattaca April 06, 2019

These days I see 33 year olds as not much more than babies, still living with their parents.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.