It's all good in Open Diary transition

  • Feb. 20, 2014, 12:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I'm feeling sooooo much better now. Both physically and emotionally.

I don't know what it is and it's clearly not something I can just shake, or whatever, but every so often (more often than I can live with really) this anxiety, homesickness and missing my family crap just completely overtakes me. I was fine, never homesick, rarely missed my family even, until Rhea was born. Now I feel like I'm anxious and depressed more often than not. I'm already on anti-anxiety meds, I've increased my dosage and I've been to counselling. I'm not sure what else I could possibly do. But when I come out of it and I'm feeling well I can't even begin to understand why I ever get this way. It just makes no sense. And, I feel like I'm over it and I won't ever get that way again. Like right now, this is how I feel. But, inevitably, it slowly comes back and overtakes me. It pummels me and I'm down for the count again. It's really not fun.

So, with the holiday Monday, the gastro disaster continuing into Tuesday, a snow storm Wednesday and another snow storm today, this will be a one day work week. Crazy. I missed a lot of subbing hours because of it though. Not happy about that. Otherwise, I think I really needed it. Even today my stomach isn't 100%, but it's a heck-of-a-lot better than it was on Monday.

It was actually a fun day today, despite being unable to go outside. I left my snow pants at work because I'm out on duty (outdoors) at least every second day, more when I'm subbing and have duty for those teachers too, so I need them a lot at school. I generally leave them there because I don't want to have to try and remember to take them back and forth. It would have been nice to have them at home today though. We have perfect snowman making snow and Rhea really wanted to go outside. D'oh! So, in lieu, we read a million books, played with puzzle-blocks that accompany a book, played with play-dough, snuggled on the couch, and painted a picture. Now she's napping next to me while I type on the phone.

Oh, and Rhea kind of got sick too, but just barfed once, in her carseat on the way home from dinner with her grandparents on Monday evening. They had let her order a hotdog for dinner (because they're grandparents so they can't help themselves from letting her eat whatever garbage she wants) and she hurled on the way home. Her carseat in their vehicle still reeks, despite them taking the thing apart and washing the cover. I need to get a new harness/belt for the seat now because once it gets wet it's not as reliable in a crash, but I'm having a heck of a time finding the replacements on a site that will ship to Canada. The manufacturer (Diono Radian is the seat) has a Canadian site but it is missing the very items I need and the American site doesn't ship to Canada. I was going to get it through the Bongo International service but when I started reading reviews I got discouraged and worried I'd be ripped off. Then I couldn't get my Paypal account to work so I had to cancel my old one and sign up for a new one and by then Rhea just wanted to come up from downstairs, have a snack and then a nap, so here we are.

That's all that's fit to tell here, how about you?

EDIT

Had to add this story. Last night I was cutting Rhea's toenails because she was starting to look like a velociraptor, and she farted right in my face. I sarcastically said, "Excellent!"

Rhea: An excellent fart, Mommy?

Me: Not really, it's sarcasm.

Rhea: No it's not mommy, it's gas!

Ladies and gentlemen, my daughter, the literalist.


aglow February 20, 2014

Your daughter THE GENIUS, also, because that's smart and sassy and brilliant.

midnight radio aglow ⋅ February 20, 2014

Hehe, she's pretty smart, that little squirt.

Squidobarnez February 20, 2014

she is so smart and awesome, and you're rocking at being her mom.

I hope you're enjoying your now.

PB-buddy-huggies

midnight radio Squidobarnez ⋅ February 20, 2014

Thanks! I have a feeling Rhea and Ashley would take over the world together!

noooncy. February 22, 2014

Ha! Rhea is hysterical!

donut February 22, 2014

that kid is hilarious!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.