Think of This as a Window in Magical Realism

  • Feb. 20, 2014, 3:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not too much to write about today. I guess there is always something to write about but by that I mean I haven't done much in the past 24 hours since I last wrote. But who knows, maybe I will be come the kind of person who writes on here every day. I'll sleep eight hours a night, cook healthy meals, work out one hour a day and keep regular hours.

Dare to dream - I admire people whose lives are like this but realistically, more likely I'll continue to be a person of wild extremes. Stay out all night, sleep until 6pm. Work 80 hours one week, 40 the next. Eat lots of lovely lean protein and veggies five days a week, candy corn and wine the other two. Swim ten miles or run a marathon without training, then not work out at all for a week. Maybe it all balances out.

Yesterday was a day of moderation. I worked consistently throughout the day, completing action items in between conference calls. At 5pm I changed into gym clothes (stripe-y grey/black capri tights, black tank, white socks, orange asics sneakers.) and left the office. Put my coat and bag into the self-locking gym lockers that I still stress about using, and went upstairs to take a class with my co-worker Caroline. I now have two workout partners in addition to A, Caroline and my gym buddy Kendra, who I met through daytime bootcamp in December, and we've taken classes together 2-5x per week ever since. She is an actress from Vancouver who used to work for Google and now runs an acting school. Kendra did not come to class yesterday because she had an audition in Toronto.

Class was random, lots of sandbags. Got really sweaty and before I knew it class was over. Caroline did the foam roller and I did sit-ups and a long plank. Successfully opened locker, put my coat on, then took subway home. On the way home I realized I already had ingredients for dinner (shocker) but A was having a stressful week so I stopped in at the wine shop on the way home. Purchased an Australian chardonnay and two bottles of Barefoot red.

A was in a poor mood so I cuddled him a bit, opened the chardonnay and poured him a glass while I cooked. I sliced up half an avocado that was in the fridge and salted it. Then I cut up a brick of extra firm tofu and sauteed it in the pan. A wasn't very hungry and only wanted tofu and avo but I made myself a salad with mixed greens, carrots, and the avocado with the tofu. We ate, drank some wine, and hung out for a bit. I had some leftover cooked tofu so I added it to the leftover brussels sprouts and butternut squash tupperware from yesterday to have for lunch.

After dinner I did an hour of work, then took a shower. I shampooed with Ology grapefruit shampoo and conditioned with Garnier Fructis, something with moroccan oil. Lathered up with Dove Blue Fig and Orange Blossom soap, shaved my legs and used my Clarisonic Aria to wash my face. A came to talk to me when I was in the shower, the shower curtain is clear and he likes to watch me shave my legs. He also laughs at me because I get so excited every time I use the Clarisonic, he got it for me for Christmas and the novelty has not worn off yet. (Maybe it NEVER WILL.) After the shower I put lotion on my arms and legs, applied deodorant and put on some perfume (Kate Moss Vintage Muse) then blowdried my hair. After doing so, I noted that my hair takes seven minutes to blowdry.

After I was clean I decided to try on come clothes that had come in the mail after online shopping. Tried on four dresses to get A's opinion but only kept one. I really need to start getting stuff custom made or tailored down. Cuddled up after that - I was feeling antsy so I played on the iPad for a bit (I have one for work but never use it) looking at vintage Kelly bags and workout clothing online.

Went to sleep, then woke up at 7am. Checked my blackberry and my 8am call was cancelled so I went back to sleep for a bit, then got ready for work. Washed face, brushed teeth, put sunscreen on my face. Put on a little makeup, brushed my hair, then got dressed. (Black longsleeved midi dress, sheer black stockings with back seams, black suede booties, black jawbone UP band, and j12.) Tried on an hermes scarf A got me for Christmas but it was too colorful or something so I put on a long grey scarf/shawl thing instead. Put lunch and an apple into my bag, put on coat, then headed out.

Subway uneventful, weather actually pretty warm/sunny today. Got coffee/water at office cafe with coworkers, then did work. Ate apple midmorning, then lunch around 1:30pm. Lunch was the aforementioned brussels sprouts, butternut squash, and tofu. Even better the next day I think. While eating lunch I looked at the news and saw that Maggie Estep has died. I used to love her "Stupid Jerk I'm Obsessed With" in high school. The title of this entry is taken from an essay she wrote for the collection "Goodbye to All That: Writers on Loving & Leaving NY." I love the original Joan Didion essay but would hate to have to leave NYC. Maggie Estep moved to Brooklyn, then Upstate, and now she is dead at only 50.

I was also very happy to learn that the carriage horses will be staying in NYC, at least for now. I feel strongly that it is not animal cruelty at all.

Just had another coffee and bottle of water and about to jump on another call. Tabata class at 6:30pm, then dinner with A at 9pm. I have an obscenely early day tomorrow for an in-and-out work trip so need something relaxing beforehand. Moderation! Balance! In other news, spring must be coming as I have a strong urge to throw out everything I own.


pandora February 20, 2014

Sounds like a lot of moderation indeed! I'm pretty sure your way balances out. Lucky that you can sleep late--even if I go to bed at 5am, I'm up by 9ish. I'm lucky if I can sleep past 6:30 on weekends. WAH!

Show us the new dress you kept!

Truly.Madly.Deeply February 20, 2014

Sounds like a good day. I am a person of extremes as well. Randomly just started doing p90x again instead of easing my way back in to the gym. I am obsessed with jawbone up. What are your thoughts? Have a great evening.

Satine Truly.Madly.Deeply ⋅ February 20, 2014

Hello! Jawbone - it's okay...I used to have the Nike Fuelband until it died on me after 2 years, I liked it because it showed the time too. I got the Jawbone UP for free from a bootcamp thing I did - I like that it tracks sleep, I don't like that you have to tell it you're sleeping or doing an activity, am also convinced it doesn't really know when I am sleeping. :) It's also not compatible for blackberry so I have to use with iPad which I rarely use.

~Mrs. O~ February 20, 2014

It definitely does all balance out...I tend to be a person of extremes as well (but it does work out).

midnight radio February 20, 2014

Unfortunately, I tend to extremes in only one direction - the wrong one!

~jo

midnight radio February 20, 2014

Shortbus Puppy February 20, 2014

I really like this entry! :D

Deleted user February 21, 2014

after your usual recaps this was a funny glimpse into the daily life of Satine! :D

incredulity February 21, 2014

If you throw out an Hermes scarves, throw them in my direction?

sarahbaby. February 21, 2014

All that food sounds amazing .

BluestockingBlue February 21, 2014

Don't you just love the 3a start on the days you treat the airport like a bus station and travel sans suitcase? :-/

For some reason this entry reminds me of your old entries, with the detailed description of food and clothes. I just realized the other day how sad it is that it isn't possible to ever go back and read all of that at now, although I suppose most of us had privatized the old stuff anyway.

BluestockingBlue February 21, 2014

Also, I love the blue fig and orange blossom soap!

dickson. February 21, 2014

Bluesea February 21, 2014

I can't imagine you being happy living a life of only moderation.

I've heard great things about the Clarisonic and want to get one.

edna million February 21, 2014

I don't understand these people with regular normal lives. They must get very bored!

I've always thought the carriage horses in Charleston seem very well-taken care of, despite claims of cruelty. Horses are bred to work, and if they are getting plenty of food and water, and aren't out in severe weather, I don't see that hauling tourists around is a bad thing. The ones in Charleston are like big pets.

missing maui February 22, 2014

If you were a daily writer, I would be a happy girl. But then, a lot of what I love about you is your tendency toward extremes (I can so relate), and well, I realize this means you probably won't ever be a daily writer. (And neither will I.)

I also wanted to say that I had forgotten that "S" is really "A" so I got super confused reading today, thinking you'd gone and found some other boy.

banker chick February 22, 2014

I hope you continue to write entries like this. When I was in high school/early 20s I dreamed of moving to NYC. I love reading about it from someone who actually lives there.

I'm glad Ryan doesn't watch me shave, I always feel so clumsy and awkward when I do it, and now I can barely reach my legs so it's like ten times worse. Ha!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.