21st century dime store in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • March 31, 2019, 12:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Back in the late 50’s and early 60s, before I started my lawn mowing business, my brother and I were given a very modest allowance of 25 cents a week. Even adjusted for inflation it wasn’t much money then or now, but there was one place near and dear to my heart where I could stretch that quarter out purchasing little cool things that I remember to this day. The 5 and dime, 10 cent store or dime store— whatever you wanted to call it — was the most exciting and fun emporium a kid back in those days could ask for.

In my neighborhood, far from downtown New Orleans where the huge S.H. Kress and F.W. Woolworth stores resided with their long lunch counters and soda fountains and throngs of shoppers on bustling Canal Street, there was a small strip shopping center. It contained several businesses including a Winn-Dixie grocery store, a small bank branch, and a T.G.&Y. 5-10 & 25 cent store. This would have been during the years 1958-1960. It seemed like a huge place to a starry-eyed kid of 9 with a bit of an oversized imagination. Some of the things I remember buying were magnets, chunks of chocolate candy, pipe cleaners which you could tie together and make things, and Duncan yo-yo’s which I think cost around 25 cents, a whole week’s allowance. It didn’t matter because in 1959 when yo-yo’s were a huge fad, everyone had them. They were as popular or more so than marbles. I remember some kids could get a Duncan butterfly yo-yo and perform all kinds of maneuvers with it. Me — I was pretty inept at it. All I could do was fling the thing down toward the ground and send it flying back up with a flick of my wrist. Sometimes I got hit in the forehead. Other kids could have the yo-yo doing all kinds of tricks. It was very frustrating.

From those earliest T.G. & Y. shopping experiences, there was no turning back. Every small town we’d pass through on our vacation trips had a dime store, locally owned and locally named. In Sumter, SC where we went on vacations to see my relatives, there was a big Kress on Main Street as well as a McClellans. How I loved that store which I visited all during the sixties. It had wooden floors, always smelled like freshly popped movie-theater popcorn, and was absolutely filled with goods of every sort. It lasted until about 1980, I believe when all the bigger stores on Main Street began moving to the new mall on the outskirts of town and dime stores started disappearing.

In the 1960s we lived on the Westbank of the Mississippi River in New Orleans, and when we moved there in 1961 it didn’t take me long to discover the two dime stores along Gen. Meyer Avenue in small shopping centers. The one nearest to me had a Morgan & Lindsay as well as a grocery store and the barber shop I went to and which I’ve previously written about at OD. The other shopping center, about a mile away, had an A&P food store and a T.G.&Y. The Morgan & Lindsey was closer so I’d go there more often, usually riding my bike. I recall buying chunks of chocolate at the T.G. & Y. from a glass case and cheap, hardcover abridged versions of classic literature such as Huckleberry Finn and Tom Sawyer. Also I bought my Hardy Boys mystery series there as well as outdoor boys’ adventure novels such as “The Walton Boys in High Country.” Years ago I went online and bought a copy for old time’s sake. That shopping center also had a Royal Castle Hamburger shop where you could get sizzling little hamburgers cooked with chopped onions and placed on a very soft bun with a pickle on top. No fancy jumbo hamburger today can compare to those mouth-watering treats that were only 15 cents apiece so you could eat several of them and get a frosted mug of root beer, too.

I digress, but it sure is fun to travel down Memory Lane.

The point of this whole piece is to tell you about my happy re-discovery about six months ago of Dollar Tree stores. Years ago I had gone to one in Sumter at the mall buying this and that, and enjoyed it okay, but it was crowded and rather junky. The Charleston Dollar Tree, located in a strip shopping center with other discount stores, was considerably larger, but it didn’t impress me too much either, particularly after I bought a small cleaning utensil that fell apart. I lost interest and didn’t go back to that store for another 15 years until last Fall. To my great surprise and delight I discovered a store full of useful items and everything in between, of surprisingly good quality. Everything was a dollar so when I made that first visit late last November, I bought some Autumn-themed paper plates and coffee mugs. I went back a week or so later and filled my basket with notepads, pens, six ounce Coca-Cola glasses, scouring pads, cookies, and, since Christmas was coming up, I bought some ornaments for our little tree and a small teddy bear with Christmas cap and elf outfit for Mom who loved it. Only a dollar! It was fun dropping these little knick-knacks and candy into my basket with abandon. You could end up at the check-out counter with 16 items and only pay $16 plus tax. On recent visits I’ve gotten nice little LED flashlights for a dollar and a pack of batteries for the same price. What a bargain! Also, of course, small bags of Easter chocolate eggs and a small stuffed bunny for Mom.

It dawned on me one day when I eagerly entered one of the two Dollar Trees I regularly go to that, yes, of course, this is exactly what a dime store in 2019 would and should look like. It’s updated a bit for our modern times but it’s still the 5-10-25 cent store I remember from my childhood and youth. In this crazy world of frantic technological change and online shopping, Woolworth and Kress live on, just with a different name.


Last updated March 31, 2019


Xanatos March 31, 2019

I cannot express how much I love your writing.

Kristi1971 March 31, 2019

Oh! A McLellan's! Thank you so much for writing this. A big portion of my family lived in Brunswick, ME, just down the street from the college and not far from downtown. My Nana and I would walk downtown and stop in at McClellan's. She would also get me some little thing in there. And Woolworth's! Sometimes if she had a little extra money (she was always really good with money), she would let me climb up to the counter for a treat. Oh wow....great memories! I remember my brother really liked McClellan's also.

Kristi1971 March 31, 2019

You know...I've never gone into the Dollar Tree down here. I remember going in one in Maine when I lived there, but that was a long time ago. I need to take the girls into a Dollar Tree. :) They need great memories like this to pass along to the next generation. :)

MageB April 01, 2019

That's a great place to browse and have fun.

Deleted user April 02, 2019

I remember Woolworths and Ben Franklain “ dime stores”. My Grandma used to take me most Saturdays when we “ went to town”. I always came home with a tiny turtle , which they let me keep for a few days then we set it loose in one of our ponds , a knickknack , a tiny stuffed animal , candy , a paddle with a ball on a string , etc...
I love Dollar tree . I find all kinds of things there and I go almost every week :-)

Newzlady April 02, 2019

We had a Ben Franklin store and I remember the day I bought my first durable good (a hideous table lamp) with my own money. I don’t care much for Dollar Tree, but I roamed the aisles of our Dollar General this evening.

Marg April 02, 2019

That was such a lovely walk down memory lane even though I'm in an entirely different country! It conjured up memories of the old Woolworth shops with bare wooden floors and loads of stuff to buy on a Saturday with pocket money (allowance). Later when I was older and working in Dad's shop we shut at one o'clock on a Saturday and I still trundled along to 'Woolies' to see my school friends who had Saturday jobs there and spend my wages although the 'booty' had changed to records and makeup!

That storefront of Kress's reminds me of a shop in Aberdeen called The Rubber Shop - it had exactly the same frontage with the bevilled windows and Art Deco doors - inside it was a treasure trove! Every kind of household item imaginable but at the back there was a toy department to rival all other toy departments - just a delight to a child with every toy you could think of - large and small.
When I came here in the summer holidays to stay with my (childless) aunt and uncle, that was one of the first things we did - take the double decker bus into town and buy me a toy from The Rubber Shop, a 10/- (50p) bag of jokes/tricks from the joke shop next door and a bag of sugar candy from the sweet shop a few doors up on the same street. Happy Days!

Our equivalent to your Dollar Tree would be Poundland where there are some good bargains but I prefer a good browse round the charity shops myself :)

Oh and I was rubbish at yo-yoing when it was all the rage as well - there was a definite knack to it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.