Watch what you say, say what you mean!!! in QUOTIDIEN

  • Feb. 20, 2014, 2:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just read a great article. Intelligent, well written, insightful, except for one tiny thing I noted in the very first paragraph: I could care less.

Folks, when you determine the subject at hand is beneath you, or not worthy of your time, effort or thought, and you're not entirely sure how the saying goes, repeat after me: I couldn't care less. It means there is no more room for caring. Not a f* to be had.

Unless it's Opposite Day, in which case, 'I could care less' might have been appropriate, and the article sucked big time!


Any married women out there whose men have seasonal jobs? This is the 'almost everything sucks' season where you become a SIM. Yes, the game SIMS where, without cheats, you have just enough energy to eat, sleep, go to the bathroom, go to work, and come home. And, if you shave enough corners, you won't come home to a dead cat in the hallway.

And then there's my job. I love fighting insurance companies and justifying what decency demands,and winning. I love making my patients laugh. I love making things go in the right direction for those who can't find the WE ARE HERE mark.

Despite all of this, those 'in the know' are well aware of some of the crap I have dealt with, how I've been treated, in return. I have taken maybe 10 sick days in all the time I have worked for this woman. When I was too dizzy to drive during my months-long vestibular migraines, my husband took me. Thank GOD, when I was hospitalized, it was mostly over the weekend.

It wasn't until the Christmas of 2012 that I actually got Christmas off with pay. Until then, I worked it because it's during SUCK SEASON, and to go without the money would have been unbearable.

And now, I am having physical issues due to the necessary, daily maneuvering of this large woman.

All this to say that I was feeling pretty down last night, when suddenly my husband says, 'oh, Jennybean (future DIL) is being groomed for management position at security firm.' My son also works there, and he had also mentioned to Dave that there was a job opening, if Dave knew anyone. 'It just requires watching the monitors, and walking the circuit twice per shift.' SOLD!!! I have ins, and the job is mine, at this point.

It pays $3 less per hour than I get a Di's, but it comes with benefits, my taxes are paid as I go, I get medical, paid vacation after a year, unemployment at the end of the line if need be.

I would work four, 10 hour shifts. Our income would jump almost $30k per year. We would still sell this house, but only after having the kitchen redone, the outside re-sided, and the carpets replaced, but we would likely stay within a 30 mile radius - outside of this school district, for Anne-Marie.

I am excited at the prospect of leaving this job I've now had for twelve years, and resented for about 5.

I think they will have a very difficult time finding a replacement like me....but in the end, I couldn't care less.


Pintador February 20, 2014

I'm with you on the "couldn't/could care less" thing!! I have never understood how it isn't obvious to EVERYONE that it should be "couldn't" care less, because..well...if you don't care at all, there is no way to care less... duh. If you "could" care less, then you must care, cuz on the care scale, you're saying you're not all the way to the left at this point.

A new job sounds like just what the doctor would order! Your shoulder needs a rest and some people out there need to learn to appreciate a good thing when they've got it - ya know what I'm sayin? The idea that you're not appreciated over at Casa D is a mind boggler. I would think that, especially D, would dread the day you decide to leave. She's losing a good friend as well as a top notch care giver. I would say you made her life a heck of a lot better; don't know why she can't see it.

MJ's Page Pintador ⋅ February 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your note, Pint! It's nice to hear, from those who have been through the whole thing almost from the beginning, that I do deserve better.

whowhatwhere February 20, 2014

They are sure going to miss you, that is for sure! I think the new job sounds great!

GypsyWynd February 20, 2014

You'd be the kind of person I'd want for a caregiver. It's a shame you're not more appreciated where you are (or appreciated at all, for that matter). I think a job change might be a good thing, and getting a job with benefits is great!

Overachiever February 21, 2014

If you're selling the house, don't redo anything. Clean, organize, paint, stage, but don't invest in anything more. Price it accordingly.

memelou February 21, 2014

that's so cool!! hope the job works out :)

MJ's Page February 21, 2014

We need to do the kitchen. Crap job that was done needs fixed, and/or completed. Right now, it is all but gutted.

And we MUST sell this house and be in another before the start of the next school year.

MJ's Page February 21, 2014

Oh...and the equity is absolutely necessary.

CPA2B February 21, 2014

The new job sounds fantastic! I loved working 4 10-hour days. And the benefits and vacation would be a lovely bonus for you! You certainly deserve something special like this, after what you've been through with Di AND her family...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.