Guardians of the Galaxy in Testing.... testing... 1, 2, 3...

  • Feb. 20, 2014, 7:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yep, this entry is solely a comic book movie rant. If you don't read comic books or watch the movies, then you would indeed be wasting your time reading this :P

So my wife's co-worker told her to text me yesterday if I'm excited for Marvel's upcoming "Guardians of the Galaxy" movie (I'm everyone's resident comic book nerd, haha). I replied, "Not really, I'm not familiar with them (they're newer characters) and they seem pretty out there in silliness. One guy is a tiny raccoon! haha"

I didn't know the movie's trailer was recently released. Later in the day I watched it and texted her, "I just saw the trailer, I look less forward to it than when you asked me earlier, haha"

How could a comic book guy, whose favorite character is a giant green rage monster (Hulk), not be excited for this movie and call it silly? Well for one, I was never into alien stories. I'm not a fan of Star Wars or Star Trek, anything where you make up different worlds and species and all that is just too out there for me

My suspended belief as a comic fan only goes so far. Basically it stays on earth. Batman trilogy was successful because it wasn't a typical sci fi movie, they really brought him down to earth and rationalized things as best they could. Iron Man has been a success because Robert Downey, Jr is awesome! And his character is relateable with his weapons, tech suit, and starting with his quest to stop terrorists

Captain America is relateable because it's a super soldier serum, basically steroids for steroids on steroids, haha. If you're a sports fan, there's always talk of steroids and performance enhancers. Hulk is reach, but if you combine this 'super soldier serum' with powerful radioactivity that only Bruce Banner understands, then it's not that bad. But it's still a reach, and it shows by being the lowest performing movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe

Thor has that Greek Mythology stuff, so some people can relate. But yeah he's out there for me. I'm not a fan of his movies, except for Loki. He's just too damn entertaining, haha. And Natalie Portman's hot :P

After seeing the Guardians of the Galaxy trailer, and pretty much being introduced to these guys for the first time, my thought process pretty much went:

  • Starlord - lead character, tries to be funny but he's corny. Seems human, why is he in an alien movie?

  • Rocket Raccoon - he's a freaking raccoon! Again, aliens are a stretch for me, but why an alien based on an Earth creature?

  • Batista and Zoe Saldana - no real showcasing their characters in the trailer, but they look the part of aliens so they get a pass

  • The tree thing - Lord of the Rings walking, talking tree rip-off, haha

  • Overall - I had no idea what's going on, it all seems like a jumbled mess. When I see a comic book movie trailer, I could pretty much predict the storyline, but this one is just random. No clue as to why they're 'Guardians of the Galaxy', or what they'll be 'guarding'. Or if they were a team prior to this trailer, or are being introduced to each other during the trailer. A split second shot of The Collector is shown, but if you didn't already know who he is you wouldn't know he's a main character in the movie, just a random shot of someone during a sequence of action shots. Therefore, no telling why this group needs to be fighting anything. Will Ferrell's 'stepbrother' in "Step Brothers" is in it, he makes it seem like it'll be a comedy. And again, Starlord's attempt at humor makes it seem like it'll be campy comedy for kids

moral of the story: To me it seems like it has the makings to be Marvel's Green Lantern (that movie bombed, character wasn't funny, it was too out there, and the audience just didn't get into it). I guess aliens only work for me when they're attacking earth and heroes here defend us, haha

Have a Nice Day!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.