Play in In the Meadow

  • March 29, 2019, 1:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We have been having a busy time of it lately. Kayla and Timmy were in the school play the weekend before last, and Kayla’s close friend’s birthday was this past weekend. My birthday was last week and my brother’s birthday was this past weekend.

The play was “Footloose.” It went very well. I’ll admit I had some concerns because the song and dance scenes are difficult. The kids rose to the occasion and did great. This was the first play in which Timmy and Kayla have had speaking parts. They did well with remembering their lines. They were nervous on opening night but after that they were fine. One of the teachers does the costumes. The costumes were terrific, very eye-catching. My dad and stepmom and the kids’ paternal grandparents came to the show. The weather was kind of iffy but they still had a lot of people in attendance. I think the twins learned a lot from doing the show. It takes a lot of coordination and teamwork.

Kayla’s close friend’s birthday was this past weekend. Kayla went out for dinner with the friend and her parents, and they went to Dave and Buster’s. At this age they don’t have birthday parties anymore, but they like to spend their birthdays with their friends.

Kayla and I also looked at dresses for the junior class dance, which is coming up next month. There is a store in the mall with a lot of dresses. The body-hugging, smooth look is trending now in dresses. When I was in high school it was the puffy dresses. I remember I wore a blue puffy dress to the senior prom. It was very 1992.

So Kayla and I had some mother-daughter bonding over the last week. While we were at the mall we went to Cinnabon. I got a peach tea and could not get the top off the bottle. I took it back and asked if I could exchange it for another one. The guy opened the bottle right away. It made me feel very puny, ha ha.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.