not got a title in crawling into 2014.

  • Feb. 20, 2014, 3:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

and since prosebox doesn't allow non titles I'd better write one.

You know those dreams when you can only save one of your children? My always involve water and at least one of my kids is drowning. Yesterday I had a mini moment in reality when I took the kids swimming. We have a lagoon pool. It's designed for anything but actual swimming with waves and slides and a pirate ship and palm trees and rain.

Well, I wanted to take the girls swimming so that they could practice what they did in their lessons but was overruled by their desire to go to the oasis. We went and tally disappeared. I'm fine with her doing that, she's a good swimmer but she does get tired easily when swimming so I was keeping a close eye on her. Lila and I stayed together because, although she can swim she isn't very strong yet.

We'd been in for 45 minutes, the waves were on and I was waiting for them to end so I could take the girls out as we had to get rich from work. Lila said she felt a bit sick and climbed out of the pool so I climbed out with her. We had our legs dangling in the water and the waves were washing up over our legs and wobbling us about. Tally was in the melee in the deep end, as she had been for all the other waves, and I was watching her closely. Her eyes turned to me in panic and she reached her hand out to me. At that moment a group of teens surrounded her, not noticing her as they had fun in the waves. I could see her panic more so I had to choose. Leave Lila where the waves could easily knock her back in the water and get tally our leave Tally in the hope that she would get to me. I turned to Lila and said "move back against the wall and stay there." I must have used a voice that she's never heard before as she actually did as she was told without question! I jumped in, ploughed through the waves and bodies. I grabbed her hand, pulled her up onto my hip and carried her back to a very scared looking Lila.

All this while four life guards looked on.

Tally is still a bit shaky this morning so after breastmates we'll have a quiet movie afternoon.


Deleted user February 20, 2014

Oh poor Tally! I am glad she is okay! That was scary, for the three of you :-( abrazos

Darcy0207 from OD February 20, 2014

Scary. I guess the lifeguards are more "into" socializing. They just think everyone's just having fun.

Deleted user February 20, 2014

Wow!!! Good mom for never leaving your eyes from her! What a scare!

Sapphire February 20, 2014

Scary ... and very poor show by the lifeguards, who should be on the lookout for things like that. So pleased you got to her and she's okay (if a little shaken).

Reminds me of a time when we went to a local pond where kids could swim ... Katie (who was the tall one back then) was meant to be looking after Dan but she went swimming out a long way and he couldn't stand up ... I was watching from the beach and had to go wading in, fully clothed, to get him back!

ElvenAssassin February 20, 2014

hugs Well done mom. I'm glad everyone ended up safe

thesunnyabyss February 20, 2014

you are such an awesome Mum, I am so glad it ended safely,

Big hugs my friend!!

January Child February 20, 2014

omg !!!! Trust your instincts. Well done xx

Deleted user February 20, 2014

That would be horrible and you did exactly the right thing ! Mom to the rescue !!

~Twinkle~ February 21, 2014

How scary, glad everyone is safe and ok xxx

The Tranquil Loon February 22, 2014

oh this was scary to read let alone go through .!! You poor guys. Great that everyone is safe.

Deleted user February 22, 2014

How awful! I'm so sorry you and your family had to go through that. Major props to you on keeping your cool and thinking fast. I hope this weekend is nice and restful for all of you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.