Roadtrip in General

  • March 23, 2019, 8:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have so much to write about. But I just don’t have the heart.

Long roadtrip in my immediate future. At the beginning of May.

Four corners. Down to DC to tour the Smithsonian. Maybe a stop in Pittsburg. Then over to Memphis, then down the Natchez Trace.

A visit with my Aunt, cousins and sister in Alabama.

Over to New Braunsfels, Texas to visit for a few days with my son and my grandson. A couple of shipmates in the San Antonio area.

Then across to Pima AZ to visit with Sandy. Check out the AMARG.

After that it is up in the air.

Nevada has some possibilities. Maybe out to San Diego surfing in La Jolla, then up the Pacific Coast Highway. Whidbey Island.

I am trying to not call this my last trip. But truth is, the prognosis is not optimal. When they do my heart surgery I am at around 35% mortality. This is not how I thought I would go out. Going to sleep with an IV, blood pressure cuff, pulse ox. A Johnny that doesn’t cover my ass. Go to sleep and just never wake up.

I always thought I would go out in a flame of glory.

I’m not dead yet, so I better get on about living.

And living isn’t waiting for the next thing to happen.

Plus. A six thousand mile road trip has all manner of possibilities for heroism.


Deleted user March 24, 2019

Have a great trip and I am feeling like you are going to come through that surgery fine . When are they doing it ?

Telstar March 24, 2019

35% mortality? That's about a 2:1 success rate. Always count on the positive outcome.

Enjoy your trip. You may yet go out in a flame of glory!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.