Exercise talk in Fitness and Exercise

  • March 14, 2019, 1:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just met a lady from our exercise class for a coffee and mentioned I hadn’t seen her at class for a while. She said she’s stopped going, since the lady who runs it has changed her system so, instead of pay as you go, you now pay for every single class a month in advance whether you can make it or not. She was very sneaky and just started sending us invoices without telling us what the new system was. Quite a lot of people can’t go every week for various reasons, so you end up paying £28 a month and might only be able to go twice, which is a lot of money for a one hour exercise class! Add to that, she’s quite rude about the babies. She lets you bring them along but then gets annoyed when they make a noise or get disruptive. She’s got three children of her own, she must know what they’re like! Also, don’t run a baby class if you don’t like babies. Sheesh. She said she was pleased when I started taking Harrison to his nanny instead of to the class. I joked that she hates my baby and she said “yes.” RUDE!

So it got me thinking, maybe I might stop going and find an aerobics class or something at a local leisure centre, where I can pay and go. I’m sure it’ll end up being cheaper. Or even if I pay up to £28 a month for a membership, if I use it to go to one class a week and take Harrison swimming once a week, it’ll work out cheaper all round as we are currently paying to take him swimming anyway.

As Dave’s mum has him for a few hours on a Monday anyway, I can do whatever I want with the time!

Last night I went skating with my old roller derby team. It was so good to be back in my old stomping ground! It is 20 miles away, but still got there in the same time as it took me to get to the other team which is only 10 miles away. So it costs more in petrol, but this is my team, I have friends there and feel an allegiance towards them. So I’ve decided to keep going with my old team, yay! I have to pass my minimum skills test again, so it was a freshie class last night, but I can still do almost all of the skills so I’m sure I’ll be passing in no time. Even better is that the first team / a-team is short on members so I’m pretty much guaranteed a place on the team when I’m able to go back full time! I’ll just go occasionally for now and look at going back full time once I’m back at work; I’ll be earning more money then so can afford full membership, plus Harrison will be older and won’t be as reliant on me anymore. Much excite!

Tomorrow, me and Dave are taking Harrison to the sealife centre. We get discounted entry as we go to sensory classes, I’m sure Harrison will love watching the fishes, turtles and penguins!


Camdengirl March 14, 2019

I think the gym membership sounds much better value. I guess you'd miss out on the social aspect, but it sounds like you see these ladies anyway outside of it?

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ March 14, 2019

Yeah we’ve started meeting up for coffee, walks, other baby groups etc so won’t be missing the social aspect. I’ve been going to classes with this lady for a year, since I was pregnant, but I suppose I can’t keep going forever anyway!

~Twinkle~ March 14, 2019

How bizarre she just changed without letting you guys know. Gym sounds a good idea x

Swanny March 14, 2019

That lady doesn't sound very nice. i wouldn't be supporting her business with my $ if she carried on like that.

Lucretia March 18, 2019

I wouldn't be going to that lady at all! The comment about Harrison would be enough to stop me, regardless of anything else.

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ March 19, 2019

Yeah, she’s always so rude about all the babies! Like they’re disrupting the class on purpose.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.