Good Women Die Free in Feathery Turnings

Revised: 03/27/2019 4:26 p.m.

  • March 13, 2019, 12:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

G/Em/Am/C
All the ladies think I’m frozen
whispering in their Sunday dresses
But it would turn their blood cold
to witness such fiery caresses

“Good Women don’t forget things easily”
It’s a black list of sin they read
when they look at me
But in my transgressions I am free

I’m standing at the window
Memphis air moving through my hair
Will you forgive me when I’m gone
Godly neighbors?
Favorite sons?

I’m sipping whiskey in the city hotel
He says I’m in the country
Getting well
getting well

Tell him his good wife
Fell from up high
but danced down like confetti
Good Women must die free.


Last updated March 27, 2019


SiouxsieTree March 13, 2019

Thanks for waking me up.

The Thirsty Oriental March 13, 2019

Interesting- I'd like to hear how this goes! I'll have to play through the chords when I get to school tomorrow.

SiouxsieTree The Thirsty Oriental ⋅ March 13, 2019

I’d love to hear your rendition! I am no musician, I know just enough chords to get the words out.

Tweetie March 13, 2019

Always make dancing an option.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.