Winter Update in In the Meadow

  • March 11, 2019, 8:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After much rehearsal, hard work, and a few tears, the high school play is this weekend. They are doing “Footloose.” Kayla is playing a high school student, and Timmy is playing a church member. This is the first play in which the twins have had speaking parts. They were both thrilled to have speaking parts, but it has meant a lot more rehearsal time. There are performances on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings, and a matinee on Sunday.

I was talking with the kids’ paternal grandma. She said that when Timmy was younger he was so into hockey that she worried he wouldn’t be happy unless he could be a professional hockey player. Timmy seems to have discovered that there is more to life than hockey. The twins have a wide range of interests that they can explore further when they are in college.

Junior year of high school has been very busy. Next year will be about college applications. This year is mostly about maximizing high school. Timmy and Kayla are taking Advanced Placement Exams in Biology and World History in May. They go to tutoring sessions after school, and that has helped with their grades.

After the play, I am thinking that Kayla and Timmy will take some lessons from a driving school. Maybe they will try the drivers license test in late spring.

Aaron has been busy in eighth grade. He has been running indoor track. He has mostly been running middle distance, the 800 meters and 1600 meters. He is a member of the school robotics club. They are building a robot that they will show at an exhibition in May.

Aaron has earned his brown belt in tae kwon do. He is eager to get his black belt. It is an extensive test that the kids have to pass. He is planning to take the test in June.

I have been having some problems with tendonitis in my ankle, in the Achilles tendon. I can move around fine, but it was hurting when I lay down at night. I have been going to physical therapy for the last week and a half. It has gotten better and now only hurts when I first wake up. I have never been to physical therapy before. It is mostly doing exercises to strengthen my ankle. For the first two weeks I am allowed to walk around normally but not to do any extra intense exercise. This has been difficult since I have always been hyperactive. I have tried not to do too much.

I have recently gotten into the show “Forensic Files.” I have watched just about all the episodes of the first eight seasons. I also watched a documentary on the Fyre Festival.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.