Happy fucking Islander Day in Open Diary transition

  • Feb. 17, 2014, 3:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I'm laying in bed, dying of a gastro bug. Better than how I spent the better part of last night - on the toilet barfing into a giant bowl.

This weekend has been brought to you by suck. A snowstorm, my period, a major anxiety attack and gastroenteritis. It's a holiday today, to boot. Oh yeah, enjoying my Islander Day! grumble

I'm weak. Gastro is my version of Clay's man-cold where I whine and resign. Rhea has gone to her grandparents' place for the night to a) hopefully avoid catching it and b) allow me to be sick, sip flat gingerale/watered-down Gatorade and wallow in self-pity, sans audience.

Regarding the anxiety, I need to get over the fact that I'm living here instead of Newfoundland for the foreseeable future. I know I can visit and call and Skype, and that usually gets me through, but sometimes I can't shake that I have but one life to live and it's not the way I want it to be, at all. I want to be with my family, especially my mom, and it's just not going to happen unless we win the lottery or the unthinkable happens to Clay, and that is not how I want it to happen. I want Clay with me in Newfoundland, and it's too much to ask in the economy we live in with the debt we have.

Sometimes I actually consider giving up all financial responsibility and moving home to go on welfare. And then I realize that too would make me miserable.

Sorry for the lack of writing and when I do it's mounds of self-pity.

To end on a sweet note, Rhea sat on her stepping stool while I died on the toilet and told me she would give me hugs and kisses when I feel better. That's worth more than gold.


donut February 17, 2014

Oh yuck - feel better soon! :/

midnight radio donut ⋅ February 17, 2014

Thanks! It's not seemingly going away just yet. I hate the idea of calling in sick and booking a sub right after a long weekend. Ack!

midnight radio donut ⋅ February 20, 2014

Thanks, I finally do!

MissMeg February 17, 2014

Ironically, the ad at the bottom of your entry is showing a picture of a tropical island saying "YOU deserve a luxury vacation to Costa Rica"....

The ad people must be reading your entries! :)

midnight radio MissMeg ⋅ February 20, 2014

Ok, that's just creepy!

MissMeg February 17, 2014

(And of course the ad on the side is the horrible drawing of the sick guy clutching is stomach saying "YOU MAY BE INFECTED"... I'm starting to wonder now if they really do know what we're writing about.) Ha!

midnight radio MissMeg ⋅ February 20, 2014

Yup, definitely has to be picking up random words from our entries.

Squidobarnez February 18, 2014

huggles-of-healthifying-squish

midnight radio Squidobarnez ⋅ February 20, 2014

Thanks! I think they worked!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.