Two wrongs make it wrong in Testing.... testing... 1, 2, 3...

  • Feb. 17, 2014, 7:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just came back to the office after a 3 day weekend! I took Valentine's Day off last Friday. Not because of Valentine's Day, but because my son had to go to the doctor for his 6 week visit and my wife had to go to her doctor for hers as well

You'd think after being on a 3 day weekend, I'd be refueled for this daily grind! Nope, hate it here still. May hate it more actually after enjoying extra time away, haha. I didn't get into specifics about why I hate my new boss, but I'll give a couple right now. Two of his characteristics that just piss me off when combined together

First being he's a micromanager. I hate being micromanaged. I don't need anybody looking over my shoulder or second guessing everything I do. Especially when you're the new boss and I know more about what goes on around here than you. Here's an example from last Thurs, he walks to my office and says:

-Boss: Did you call so and so about scheduling a meeting

-Me: Yep, left her a voicemail. Just waiting for her to call back

-Boss: Okay, well how about we call her right now to see if she'll answer (proceeds to sit in a chair in my office)

-Me: Okay (picks up phone to dial)

-Boss: How about you put that on speaker phone so we could both talk to her

-Me: No, my speaker phone sucks. The volume goes up and down randomly so it's hard to hear (really I was thinking, no you've already annoyed me enough already I'm not doing any more of your bidding, haha)

As for the second thing, being born and raised in Houston I know the typical southern stereotype. The people in the northeastern area (particularly New York) are fast paced. Talk fast, think fast, go, go, go. And the southern states are slow. Slow talkers, slow thinkers, take your time. I'm more in between those two worlds, but this boss is definitely the slow stereotype. And he has the dumb sounding country accent (not everyone has that). So this adds to the frustration of him micromanaging me. Do you know how it feels to be second guessed while being talked to like a kindergartener? Haha, that's how it feels when someone talks so slow. I mean picture the conversation above with a patronizingly dumb, slow voice:

-Me: Yep, left her a voicemail. Just waiting for her to call back

-Boss: Okay.... well.... how.... about... we... call.... her... right.... now... to... see... if... she'll.... answer...

moral of the story: They say opposites attract. Yep each day dealing with this guy is strengthening the attraction my fist has for his face...

Have a Nice Day!


Rogue February 17, 2014

OMG! That would drive me INSANE!

Deleted user February 17, 2014

Oh Lord, I would be so infuriated. I have no patience at all especially for that kind of non-sense.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.