Scary Night in Life As I Know It

  • Feb. 16, 2014, 4:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night was quite scary. Around 10 I got a call from a friend asking me to come over. He was supposed to be moving back to Talladega today so I thought would go over for a couple of hours. This is the guy who had been a friend of Eltons for so long that I wrote about in my last enty. Anyway, I'm on my way over , on a side street , when I meet an oncoming car. I am not sure at all what happened from there but the next thing I remember is someone asking me if I can unlock the car doors and telling me at the same time not to move. I was laying in the back seat of my car, on the roof. I'd had my seat belt on but when I wrecked , it either came undone or broke. I was in a rather deep ditch and had flipped the car an unknown amount of times. The oncoming car had apparently hit the ditch as well, but his car managed to stay upright. At this time I still don't know what happened. I do know that someone sideswiped someone. I just don't know who. I was taken to the hospital by ambulance in a neck brace and on a backboard as I had neck an back pain as well as pain in my left hip. There was also a lot of blood coming from my right hand. I was still pretty out of it at the hospital but I remember the doctor asking what happened and all I could tell him was that I remembered the headlights of an oncoming car and that was it. They did a CT scan and x rays of my hip, back, neck, and head and all thankfully came out OK. The doc ordered shots for pain, gave me40mg. of prednisone for the inflammation ( I can't take a lot of the OTC stuff due to my crohns ) and sent me home wth a presrption for Percocet. He also wanted someone to spend the night with me and wake me up every 2hrs asking me what their name was. If I didn't know I was to be brought back to the ER. My niece was the best. She spent all last night ( I say all, we didn't get home until 3:30 this am ) and today with me, taking care of me and babying me. She's been ever so sweet. This whole thing was so scary. My car is absolutely totaled and to see it I wonder how I got out with no more injuries then I did. God and my personal angel were most certainly watching out for me last night, that's for sure.


*Mrs_Bolen* February 16, 2014

Omg mary!!! I am so glad you are okay :( very scary!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 16, 2014

oh my gosh! i am so glad you are relatively 'okay'. not knowing what happened had to be so scary. have you found out what happened yet? did the oncoming car swerve into you? did you blackout before the accident? i worry about you. prayers for you. take car,

~Harmonie~ Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ February 16, 2014

No, I still don't know what happened. I'm hoping that tomorrow when I pick up the police report I might know a little more. Of course, it will be only the side of the other driver.

Deleted user February 16, 2014

Oh my! I am so glad you didn't get hurt worse!!! Oh, Mary, I'm so sorry.

Deleted user February 16, 2014

I'm so glad your niece was able to stay with you. I wondered if you'd have someone to come get you and take care of you. Love you much!

stargazing February 16, 2014

Oh my! I'm sorry this has happened to you, but so glad you weren't more seriously injured. hugs

middle age pearl February 17, 2014

Your angels were "on it"! Thank God. I bet you'll be sooooo sore today and the rest of the week may get sorer with each day. OUCH but so glad no broken bones!

QueenSuzu February 17, 2014

Oh dear!---i'm so very thankful that you weren't hurt any more seriously and that your niece was able to be w/you. Hope you find out what happened. ((hugs))

Deleted user February 18, 2014

Tazmo January 23, 2015

😨

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.