Social Media in 2019

  • Feb. 16, 2019, 2:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

You can never tell what’s actually real. People only put up what they want you to see or what they want you to believe is real. I mean I am just as guilty I don’t want anyone to see what I actually look like on a normal day. Who wants to see some guy lounging in sweats with a pile of books and papers on one side of him and cup and empty plate from that days lunch on the other while watching Midsomer Muders all day…no one. I do however try to post truth I don’t go out of my way to post how happy I am or how sad I am when those aren’t my truths. If I’m happy then you will see that but you will also get my darkness when I’m there.

I think it’s hard when you know people in real life and you know the behind the scenes of their lives. Seeing the posts that go against the texts you’ve received. I have had to unfollow people because I start to find it hard to not say something. I start to think how can you text me or call me crying cause you relationship is so bad or you can’t deal anymore but then post a how great things are and you couldn’t be more happy.

I’m sure there is something wrong with me and my way of thinking or maybe not maybe I’m just over the bullshit that’s become the norm. I want real people in my life people who aren’t afraid to say today sucks and to show those days. How are we suppose to learn that it’s ok to feel our feelings and to feel comfortable expressing them if we keep following this pattern of hiding and only showing what will get us the most likes.


Last updated February 16, 2019


Asenath Waite February 16, 2019 (edited February 16, 2019)

Edited

One of the few positives of autism: Blunt honesty is the only mode of communication that I have; unless I'm actively pretending to be a socially acceptable human being, and that's far too much work to do when I'm sitting at home, trying to be comfortable.

I can't stand fake people either. If your life is so horrible that you have to constantly hide it from the world; then make the hard choices and at least try to fix it.

Especially when the source of the problem is crummy significant other. I hate women that are constantly complaining about their husbands or boyfriends, but refuse to leave them. As if you could become emotionally attached to a rock in your shoe.

Sorry for the rant, I'm half asleep.

Bry Asenath Waite ⋅ February 16, 2019

I have reached a point where I’m tired of trying to fit in. I tried to do what I thought was right and just got burnt and then when you’re blunt about the situation people just cut you out.

Kristi1971 February 16, 2019

In my experience, it's not just social media. Maybe this will help with your thoughts...if not, that's ok, too. With my experience, people tell you and show you what they want you to know about themselves. That's in everyday life. That's how it's always been. Social media is different, because it shows you that they may tell you one thing, but the world something else. Is that wrong that maybe someone shares with you about a bad relationship, but does not want the world to know about how bad it is? I might share with my family that I have a headache this morning, but it does not mean that I want to post it. It also does not mean that I am unhappy. It's definitely something to chew on. I do see some of what you are saying, but social media is mostly top layer. Then again, real life conversations are often only top layer. Now I'm sleepy still, so I hope that made some sense. Like I said - something to chew on. I wish you a wonderful day! Enjoy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.