Gutted. in Hello.

  • Feb. 14, 2019, 4:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s just over a month until I do my sponsored 32 mile walk again. Dad and I will be walking it, John’s brother Howard (who is on our team) will be running it. He did it last year in just under 4 hours! Crazy!
I really enjoy training for it, it means I get to go out for long walks on my own. Because Howard runs all the time (I mean literally, he probably runs over a hundred miles a week!), he’s been giving me advice on my training. I’m supposed to be averaging 21,000 steps a day (just under 9 miles) right now, increasing my count by an extra 1,500 steps per day every week until the big walk. So when my boss told me this Tuesday I had some holiday to use up before the end of the financial year and she was giving me nine days off, I was chuffed, thinking of all the walks I could do. Walking to Keswick via Whinlatter one day, up Honister Pass from Buttermere another day… So many plans!
Tuesday night I dropped off on the sofa at about 8pm and John woke me up at 1.30am going to bed. I pottered about for a couple of hours, then went to bed feeling perfectly fine at 3.30am. 5am I woke up feeling like I’d done 10 rounds with Mike Tyson! Nauseous, achey, temperature…urgh. I took some painkillers and went to work to do my 10-3 shift. I was given a job that kept me busy the whole time (swapping two displays) and I’m sure I would have fallen asleep on my feet if I’d stood still for long enough! When I got home, I immediately got changed into my pyjamas and fell asleep on the sofa for about 8 hours. Then I went to bed and slept another 5.
I do feel miles better today, so I don’t know if I should attempt a walk, or have a pyjama day and make sure I’m 100% better before starting training again. I think I’ll get dressed, go get myself something to eat and go to the shop, see how I fare. If not walking, I have the TV and Xbox all to myself, full of box sets and Skyrim!
It’s half term next week, so I’ve booked me and the girls into a B and B in York for a few days. I definitely want to go to Yorvik, Betty’s tearoom, walk the walls and The Shambles (if you’re a Harry Potter fan, you’d love The Shambles. I’m not, but I still love it!) That will take up one day. What else could I do? I visited the minster last year with Rob, but I don’t think the girls (12 and 16) will find it very interesting.
Right, I’m away to get dressed now. See if I can summon enough strength to go buy myself some veggie sushi. It’s what I’m craving for breakfast, who am I to deny my body? All I ate yesterday was a banana and a tin of soup!


Last updated February 14, 2019


Bumbly February 14, 2019

I was going to say train museum! Mark loves to go to York to go to the cat shop. I'm glad we're no longer nearby 😂

Bomb Shell February 14, 2019

We’re going to York for Dave’s birthday in a couple of weeks. You’ll enjoy just exploring all the tiny winding cobbled streets and ancient buildings.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ February 14, 2019

I did that when I went with Rob last year! Are you going to York Harrison free? I can highly recommend a pub called House of Trembling Madness. From the front it looks like a normal offie, but it has a lovely bar upstairs, all wonky floors and vaulted ceilings.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ February 14, 2019

Nope he’s still waking to feed several times a night and won’t settle without my boob.

Thanks for the recommendation, we’ll have a look. It sounds great, I hope children are allowed in!

puffin Babe In Toyland ⋅ February 17, 2019

I was going to recommend House of Trembling Madness for you Sonja! Glad to see you already know it.

~Twinkle~ February 14, 2019

Yes def the train museum! We love York!

Lucretia February 17, 2019

Hope you're feeling better! I love York, it's such a cool place :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.