Socialization & Skepticism in College Life & Current experiences

  • Feb. 14, 2019, 1:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Things have been a lot better lately. I stopped going to back to bed straight after my lectures. I’ve been grabbing lunch and dinner with other people on campus. I’ve even joined another organization. The funny thing about this month is, right when I questioned how well things were going, I hit a few bumps in the road. Not enough to devastate me, but it was enough for me to raise my guard back up.
I guess my only real complaint is I’m finding it hard to juggle my social life, my health, my studies, and my life back at home. I always put my studies first, so there isn’t too much to worry about there. But, I have a hard time trusting new people. There is a girl here who wants to be close to me and I’m too polite to say no to people when they ask me for things. As an introvert, it’s hard to keep up with extroverted crowds. Ironically, the four friends I have here are all extroverts. I enjoy having the company though. It keeps me from being stuck with my own thoughts and I feel like I’m finally significant here. It gives me this confidence I have never really had.
So, as a young woman with confidence and a million things to say, I’m feeling daring and flirtatious. Funny thing is, my partner feels the complete opposite. He’s been quiet and won’t engage in conversation with me anymore. It’s like this newfound confidence and socialization comes at the cost of my relationship. It’s a bit weird though. He’s usually a flirt, and now I’m lucky to even get a good morning text some days. So, is it me and the fact that I’ve been gone for two months? At least, I hope that’s what it is. I’m praying the spark between us will come back when I get back home.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.