Exercise related in Fitness and Exercise

  • Feb. 12, 2019, 4:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took Harrison to Dave’s mum yesterday while I went to exercise class. It was soooo relaxing being able to to exercise in peace without having to have one eye on Harrison and running over to him every five minutes. As much as that sounds like an oxymoron; relaxing exercise? I really enjoyed it. Especially when all the other babies seemed to be in a bad mood yesterday and one of them had a nappy explosion which necessitated an entire outfit change in the middle of the session.

I got back to collect Harrison and apparently he had been asleep for two of the three hours he had been there! Not only that, but she was able to put him down and leave him alone while he slept! Although it was good news that he had been good and easy to look after, it frustrated me because me and Dave have never been able to put him down for more than 30 minutes, and even that is only successful about 20% of the time. Yesterday for his afternoon nap I tried to put him down FOUR TIMES for one nap, but he was wide awake as soon as I moved every single time, so I gave up and held him. Which is what I’m doing now and for about 80% of all of his naps. I don’t know why he goes down for my mam and Dave’s mum but it’s driving me up the wall as I still can’t get anything done even when he’s sleeping.

Oh well, this does mean that she’s having him this Friday while me and Dave go out for lunch, and again next Monday for me. I might have forgotten to tell her that the exercise class has been cancelled next week…but if her and Harrison are happy to spend time together, then who am I to deprive them of this? ;-) they also need to get used to spending time together every week when I go back to work. So I came up with the idea of asking if she would be happy to gradually increase the time I leave him each time. Three hours in Feb, four hours in March etc. Until he’s spending the whole day there. This has the added extra advantage of giving me some time to myself to catch up on a few things.

Dave asked me last night when I’m going back to roller derby. I really want to go back to my old team as I skated with them for three years and they’re MY TEAM. But it would take me 45 minutes each way just to get to the sessions since I moved to Birmingham. So I’ve put out some feelers to a team which is a lot closer. Some of my old teamies have moved to this team anyway so at least there’ll be a few people there that I know. I haven’t skated for over a year, I’m so excited to get back into it. Even if I do it more casually without getting on the actual team, just going for a few training sessions and helping out at games.

I’ve come to the conclusion that the first year of having a baby is just about survival. A little bit more freedom is within sight!

Right, we’re off swimming when he wakes up.


~Twinkle~ February 12, 2019

Lots of yay! Luke never sleeps for me either!

Lucretia February 12, 2019

Oh that'd be amazing if you could start up your roller derby again!

Waterfire February 12, 2019

Which Birmingham teams are you looking at? I used to be with CCR, but it was years ago. I probably don't know anyone there now!

Bomb Shell Waterfire ⋅ February 12, 2019

It’s CCR who I’ve contacted as one of their training grounds is only about 15 minutes away, and I know at least four of my old team mates are there now. Blitz Dames look to be too far away.

Babe In Toyland February 12, 2019

I'm so happy you're finding time to let your hair down. :)

Bumbly February 12, 2019

The first year is a pain in the bum! Much better when they can walk and feed themselves!

Are they putting him down when he's gone to sleep or he's going to sleep and they can leave him? You could never move Zach if he fell asleep and it took ages for him to figure out sleeping on his own. But when he got it he got it quickly!

Bomb Shell Bumbly ⋅ February 12, 2019 (edited February 12, 2019)

Edited

That’s what I’m hoping. Even once he can sit up properly he should be able to entertain himself; he loves sitting and playing with toys for ages but we have to sit him up ourselves to do so.

Always rocking him to sleep and then putting him down. There’s no way on this planet he would ever fall asleep on his own! We can barely put him down whether he’s sleepy, wide awake, wanting to play or whatever.

That’s good to hear about Zach, how old was he when he started falling asleep on his own? Did you have to implement any special tricks? I just keep telling myself that he’ll grow out of it and I won’t be rocking him to sleep when he’s 15 years old!

Bumbly Bomb Shell ⋅ February 12, 2019

We rocked Zach to sleep or bounced him in the bouncer for at least 9 months before he'd realise he could sleep without movement! At one point in the four month regression we had the bouncer in the cot to get him to sleep 😂
Then he got too big to rock for long so we laid him down but literally had to hold his arms and legs still so he'd actually sleep 🤔 by about a year he understood lying still though and naps were so much easier! Then we just had the joy of him screaming every time we left the room which took another six months to fix 🙄

I was going to say Robyn was much easier but movement never makes her sleep and so she doesn't even nap in the car 😂 she's much more likely to just lie down and sleep though. But also the biggest culprit for creeping into our bed in the middle of the night. Children are odd.

Bumbly Bomb Shell ⋅ February 12, 2019

Ooh when he was getting too heavy I had a bit of success with rocking him slowly towards the mattress and then putting him down and sort of rocking him on his side then he'd go off again after slightly waking up when I put him down and would nap for a bit. It was so hit and miss though!

I don't envy you but it does get better!

Bomb Shell Bumbly ⋅ February 13, 2019

Oh god, it sounds like we’ve got a long, difficult road still ahead of us :-( we always try that bouncing thing, and bouncing his bum after we put him down. It only works very very rarely, he’s usually wide awake as soon as we even think about putting him down.

Bumbly Bomb Shell ⋅ February 13, 2019

On the plus side he sleeps a lot better than Robyn does now and she would sleep anywhere as a baby!

Deleted user February 13, 2019

I know what you mean about being able to exercise in peace. I normally leave Mirryn with my mum when I have my weekly band practice, but when that's not on I go to the gym instead. Very freeing!

Camdengirl February 14, 2019

It is about survival - you just get through it.

I'm also going to say something which you'll probably hate me for: The older generation don't leap up when they hear a baby squawk... And because of that, the kids do sleep better for them. If you can hold out for 5 minutes you may be pleasantly surprised!

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ February 14, 2019

I’m not going to cry it out. I read an article that says their stress levels remain high for several days, they only fall asleep due to exhaustion from crying, and they lose trust in their caregivers. I want him to lose his dependency on my boob in a gentle manner.

Camdengirl Bomb Shell ⋅ February 14, 2019

Then you just need to put up with it - at least if you know you've made that decision, that kind of becomes WHY you are doing it, rather than just going "Gah - he's crying again!!"

In the long run, I don't think it makes any difference. You will look back and laugh at all this. It's just coz you are right in the middle of it and sleep deprived that it's not funny. Hang in there!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.