Dark Ages in 2019

  • Feb. 9, 2019, 8:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can vividly remember one the not terrifying days of my life. I can remember arguing with my mom and that moment I broke out into a run trying to get to my room before she caught me, locking it and having to hold the lock so she couldn’t undo it from the outside as she beat on the door yelling. Then it got quiet and I thought she might have gave up nd would wait for me to come out but no, it was so sudden I didn’t even have time to react. Her literally running through the door and over me. Her somehow on top of me and all I could think of was I just hope she killed me this time cause I just couldn’t take it anymore. No more of the physical or mental abuse. I got away somehow and manage to run across the street to my grandmothers and luckily I got her door bolted and begged her not to open it as my mother beat on it.

My dad coming over and getting me that night making me go back home even though I didn’t want too. Being forced to go on some stupid church trip the next day with the bruises across my face. Thinking back now it’s crazy how that many people knew what was actually going on but didn’t intervene. Having that mentality of it wasn’t there place to say anything how someone patented their child.

My mom used the scare tatic if I said anything then I would ruin my sisters life. So I found other ways to cope with everything going on. These are what I like to call the dark ages.

Even when asked now she says she did nothing wrong and that’s how she was raised.


A Pedestrian Wandering February 09, 2019

I'm glad you've escaped and survived your Dark Ages. Love really gives us the opportunity to grow and evolve in ways our past might not have predicted.

Asenath Waite February 16, 2019

This is only the second of your entries that I've read. I hope that woman is as far from you as possible.

Bry Asenath Waite ⋅ February 16, 2019

Oh well I did move to different state but I see my mom every couple years when I visit my sister. We definitely don’t have any sort of relationship past that though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.