Dream in Original Writings

  • Feb. 5, 2019, 9:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I awoke slowly
To an already passed sunrise
Inside a clean home
Next to a sleeping, loving wife
Silly antics from our four legged critters
Could be heard from afar
A few barks, some panting, some meows
Letting us both know they’d long been awake
And it was our turn
I was in my physical prime
Free from debt
My family was arriving soon
For an impromptu gathering
Just because we could
A few friends messaged to discuss plans for later in the month
I kissed my wife on the small of her back
And said I’d answer them later
We finished in time for brunch
It was the best meal I’d ever had
And I knew the next would surpass it
I worked for myself now, after all
So my schedule was wide open for things like this
Full of love and peace
Then, as the day ceased and our laughter boomed through our den
I awoke, in reality
Brushed my teeth
Got ready for work
Next to no one, despite conflicting reports
Haven’t heard from anyone in awhile
I do have cats and family, and maybe I have some friends
For this I am thankful
But I am nonetheless alone in this small space of mine
Toiling away quietly towards a specific end
Love and peace exist
I feel them
But they are distant
Far as the end I am working for
I am aching, reaching for it
Because anger and chaos have stayed long enough
I think if I ignore them they’ll fade
I think if I deal with them I’ll win
But they are me
How does one truly win against oneself?
Let me know when you find out


Last updated February 05, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.