The beginning in My new life, a book

  • Feb. 15, 2014, 12:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My new life started on the 23th of September. I don't know much of that day.

They awoke me at a quarter to 7 to prepare me. I showered and brushed my teeth, no food allowed, then dressed into a stiff white nighty and very long white stockings.

At half past 7 the nurses wheeled me into the operating-theatre. I was the first and only patient there that day. Soon my bed was surrounded by about 7 people in green, who in turn shaked hands and told me their names. I recognised Rothbarth and smiled, the upper 'Smurf' himself, though the colour was wrong. The last thing I remember is that I was allowed to climb from my hospital bed onto the operating-table.

What I was told later on: Husband phoned at a quater to 5 in the afternoon.... they were still occupied. He was rung back at half past 5. The patient is okay, operation went well.


Deleted user February 15, 2014

A momentous day - a date you won't forget! I can't really imagine how you felt .. scared, I suppose. I would have been. And your dear husband and son would have been too. my Netherlander friend here and I had coffee yesterday and she asked about you. She was glad to hear that you are recovering well. I suppose you'll feel quite differently about the coming spring this year? Many good wishes,

Fishermanswife Deleted user ⋅ February 24, 2014

You are right about feeling different, though I need time to be me again. I don't have to fight now, can let go and sometimes that feeling leaves me... empty. No other words to describe it.

gentlebreeze February 20, 2014

Just read your beautiful introduction. I'm also a transplant from OD and I saw your comments on a few of my favs.

Glad your surgery went well. Hope you are recovering quickly.

Fishermanswife February 24, 2014

Thank you Seabreeze and gentlebreeze for your notes. I appreciate your thoughts.

Deleted user March 24, 2014

Yes wonderful introduction, and wonderful you are here, so pleased you are on the mend. X

bill_gardner April 08, 2014

Glad to know you have moved from opendiary and are still posting. Not as pretty a site, but it is good to be able to read your posts, and so glad the operation was a success. cheers Bill

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.