Streaming and Titanfalling. in Gaming.

  • Feb. 15, 2014, 7:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let's start my posts for the day with the gaming section shall we?

Alright so, for starters I mentioned in another post about how my friends and I are working on building a streaming and gaming audience base. We are working on figuring out a schedule for regular programming, which is difficult when our schedules are kind of in the air. Jay will be playing some wrestling games on the streams on Friday nights. Biff (online ID; short for Bifflog) will stream some Iracing. He is racing in the GiantBomb racing league currently. If you don't know about GiantBomb....go to giantbomb and enjoy their content. Real people opinions on games and not media bullshit where they get paid to say this or that about games. Also, they are a lot of fun. I am fronting the pokemon and zombie worlds. I don't have a way to stream DS games legally, but I have been doing Pokemon TGC (Trading Card Game) Online, and we have gotten a decent audience for that stream frequently. We have a twitter for the stream @GECGamingTV we changed it from @GECGaming to relate it a little better to the twitch and Youtube channels, which I don't believe has anything on it yet. Twitter we (Mostly me) will post when a stream is going live with a link and what game with who is playing. If we grow enough we may do some give aways and such.

The Last of Us. My Game Of The Year of 2013. The DLC Left Behind came out, and it is getting very high reviews across the board. I am pumped to get my hands on it. That game was seriously a masterpiece.

Pokemon Y. I have made a bit of progress on rebuilding after my save was lost. I have a lot of work to do still, but progress is definitely happening. The PokeBank went up and I initiated the trial, got my Celebi, and transferred over some of my Pokemon from White/White 2. I chose not to trade most of my shinies and such over, because I traded for them and in doing so I can't guarantee that they are legal, and I'd rather not get banned from PokeBank for something out of my control. In addition I hear that the PokeBank has been fairly spotty and catching transfers that shouldn't be caught. That being said, Pokemon still rules.

There was a Nintendo Direct the other day, that I did not watch. I got a brief description from my friend. Apparently some trailers for already known games, and some other simple stuff. Nothing overly convincing to get people interested in their systems that are not already. They probably need to show stuff and work on stuff that will convince people to consider getting a Nintendo console. Something to set them farther apart from the other big name consoles, even if they aren't really competing with them. Let's see....Little Mac being announced as a new Smash character, that's probably the highlight on that regard.

I guess I should comment on FlappyBird. So, game got super popular...for some reason....and the creator makes bank on it and ends up fairly quickly pulling it off of the market. Why? Apparently he made it with the intention of it being a quick little time killer, and not an addictive product. He claims it became an addictive product, which isn't what he intended. Now this whole things is just annoying to me. Yes, he used Nintendo sprites and shit, that's not the issue. The issue is he made a not as good version of Copter. Remember Copter...simple game was fantastic. FlappyBird...a not as good version of Copter. And in the gaming industry....you want your game to be addictive. That shows it was a success. And if you are not looking to make a game that is enjoyed, then why are you making games? What's the point? Right?

Alright, so I got into the Titanfall Beta. Initial opinion is that it's pretty great. That being said, I will write a more in depth review after the Beta.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.