Two emergencies! in The View from the Terrace

  • Feb. 3, 2019, 6:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been getting problems with my breathing again. It started last Thursday then seemed better on Friday but started again Saturday and has been on and off all weekend. When it happens it feels as though it’s an effort to breathe in though it’s easier if I breathe through my mouth. It usually seems to start when I am sitting and goes away or almost goes away if I walk around or lie down. It’s worse in heat or in a hot room especially a convector heater. From what I have read it could be asthma caused by allergy possibly to dust although the doctor insisted it doesn’t fit the pattern for asthma. The last time I told the doctor about it she just said I have to go to see them when it is happening as she hasn’t been able to find anything wrong so far. The trouble is it never seems to happen when they are open, always in the evening or weekend or when I am away.

I had made up my mind that if it is still there tomorrow I would ring for an emergency appointment. Then tonight I broke a tooth. I was eating muesli, I suppose it must have been a small piece of nut although I couldn’t find it afterwards. Now I am going to have to ring the dentist in the morning for an emergency appointment there and I don’t think I can face the doctor on the same day even if it is possible to arrange 2 appointments 12 miles apart that I can get to.

We had our first snowfall of the winter on Thursday evening. I was concerned that I may have to cancel a duty at the helpline on Friday but it wasn’t that bad. The snow is still hanging around but has melted on the road so I think it will be OK to get out tomorrow. The problem is that, if it freezes, it can be difficult to get the car back up the lane as it is quite steep. It is also very hard to walk up it when it is freezing so I have to be careful we don’t get stuck at the bottom. Usually if we get home before dark it is OK.

It was the final episode of Les Miserables on the TV this evening. We have really enjoyed it. I think it is the best TV drama adaption of a book I have ever seen. It was totally true to the original story. In fact I feel I understand the book better for seeing it. To anyone who hasn’t seen it, if you get the chance, I really recommend it.

Well I guess I’d better try to get to sleep as I have to be up early to ring the dentist and maybe the doctor too.


JustSurviveSomehow February 03, 2019

Feel better!

Sabrina-Belle JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ February 05, 2019

Thank you.

ODSago February 03, 2019

Hope all goes well and even that you can take your breathing problem to the doctors to be diagnosed. I have had cougher's asthma in the past...pet dander and dust mites are my triggers. No fun. In the beginning, I didn't even know there was something called cougher's asthma.

Sabrina-Belle ODSago ⋅ February 05, 2019

I have never heard of cougher's asthma either. I really hope I am not allergic to pet dander as I couldn't live without cats!

ODSago Sabrina-Belle ⋅ February 05, 2019

Unfortunately, if you are allergic to cats you can only live without them, my friend, as I learned to my eternal grief. Even for years, I couldn't visit where there were cats but now thirty years or so later, I'm no longer hyper-allergic to them and I can visit where cats abide without discomfort. Being a widow, living alone, it would be so wonderful to have a cat or two here but sadly I know what would follow--coughing without end, infections...etc. I hope you are not so affected as I was, but...if so, be prepared for the possibility.

Marg February 04, 2019

Never rains but it pours! I hope you managed to get in at the dentist okay. That's frustrating about the breathing though.

Sabrina-Belle Marg ⋅ February 05, 2019

I have got the tooth sorted now. Sometimes it just all happens together!

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ February 05, 2019

That’s good!

Salty Pea February 04, 2019

I do airways testing (for asthma and many other conditions). You can have a Lung Function Test even if you are having a "good day", you'll still show up with reactive airways. If it's not conclusive we can do a Provocation Test to confirm.
But you definitely don't need to be sick on the day to have it done. And likewise if you are sick on the day with say a cold, the test is still pretty accurate.

Sabrina-Belle Salty Pea ⋅ February 05, 2019

Thank you for this. If my doctor doesn't suggest it I can ask her about it. I really need to know what's going on so that I can deal with it.

^..^Kat February 04, 2019

Take care, I hope both issues are sorted quickly.

Sabrina-Belle ^..^Kat ⋅ February 05, 2019

Thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.