The Firsts in 2019

  • Feb. 2, 2019, 2:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I remember that day like it was yesterday. Waking up early to say goodbye to everyone and everything I knew. Not knowing if this was going to work out but I did know that I had to take this chance cause if I didn’t I would spend the rest of my life wondering what if.

I grew up in this small “town” in southeast Texas. I’m talking one highway, no stop lights if you blink passing through you’d miss the place small. Sarah was this wild LA girl who had traveled the world by the time she was 18. Our upbringings were polar opposite. She was cultured and the most exotic thing I had tried was the Chinese buffet in a real town about 30 minutes from where I lived. But there was just something about her that made me feel this ease and comfort. I wasn’t afraid to let her in to know the deep secrets that I had.

I grew up around people who didn’t have any desires to leave the place we were from no dreams to get out and see the world. It’s a very follow in the footsteps of the person before you. Very Bible Belt community. I’m not sure why or even how I ended up with my dreams or the things I believe in. I do know that I never could have stayed there I wouldn’t have lasted. Even now going back to visit is weird.

So from small country town to big city LA. It was like night and day. I ended up arriving here like two days before Halloween and she decided we were gonna go out with a group of her friends for Halloween to West Hollywood. I seen and experienced things that night that I had only ever saw in the movies at that point. These days we don’t venture out to huge events like that much in fact our Halloween’s now are finding a mask to wear down to Chipotle so we can get 3 dollar booritos and if you ever eat Chipotle then you know that’s a great deal.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.