Bruce wasn't so bad. in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Feb. 2, 2019, 6:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve often been open about my lack of animosity towards the Brucester but something happened to another website I use a couple of days ago, that really took the biscuit (dunked in tea or covered with gravy).

I’ve been logging all my runs, for about five years, on a site called The Running Bug. Although I have the stats of most of those runs on endomondo, what I don’t have are the comments I wrote; the things that created my memories. Just reading, “3 miles. 31 minutes” etc doesn’t remind me of the run whereas, “saw a kid from my class who gave me the archetypal kids’ thumbs up ” really brings the run alive for me - I can remember where I was and can hear him yelling, “MRS ERMENTRUDE!!” from the other side of the road, I can see his childminder grinning at me.

I logged into the bug a couple of mornings ago and there was a message: the running bug is now closed, all data is being deleted. Thank you for your support.

At that point, I could still see my runs so I started screenshotting like a woman obsessed. I managed to get back to last May when the whole lot just disappeared. Gone.

Fortunately, as I’m writing my running memoirs, I had been copying all my running comments into paper, but I was only up to May 2017. And I had been running tech free for several months prior to that so I don’t have eight months of stats at all.

So yeah, Bruce may not have dealt with things well but at least he gave us some notice.


thesunnyabyss February 02, 2019

oh man that is awful, and you are right, Bruce gave us plenty of warning and ways to save everything, and now it's back,

~Twinkle~ February 02, 2019

Oh no :(

ソフィア February 02, 2019

Dang. That sucks!! 😫

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.