SD-9's a workhorse for the Railroads in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • Jan. 30, 2019, 6:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The phone rings…”Terry Extra South, 845 am.” Call accepted. What is it gonna be ? I don’t know the power on this call. Hey, maybe four big Six-axle power, slough tonnage. Yeah it is slough tonnage, but it is five SD-9’s.

LOL, I drive by, the road and see the charges, that are assigned. Yep these are my pals, for my time on duty . These warriors will do good by me, but a slow rate, four and a half to five hours up the grade.

An SD-9 is 1750 horsepower, Hey is to late 50”s, standard. Six axles, powered. They are puke’s, when you top the grade. They will get ya there . Funny, some of these old jobs, were my age.

At this time in my career, I did not know, utilization, or what they were called for after I tied up in Pueblo. Sometimes they were turned back toward Denver. Other times, cut up, and a Rail train or a work train, or an add on for a set out at Trinidad for a switcher. Who knew.

South Denver, Interlocking:
Hey, I did not know, who was working in the yard. Or when they came off the road. It was 10 mph in the ‘70’s from the Rice Yard office to South Denver, so a low throttle position, and the Caboose says “Highball, South Denver”. Lets see what they are worth.

They are souped up. Souping means, they cant clear lubrication, because they are two cycle for a long time, and in an idled condition. They are carboned up, because they are working at a low throttle for switching. Smoke and fire and till hell wont have it.. We are going to clear all this idling low throttle mass, right now. A Fog pours out as we accelerate tonnage. By Littleton, nine miles south, the stacks will clear.

Milepost 50.5 :
If you’re working this trip and the sun is going down, you can see flames. They are pulsing in and out. A Light blue, yellow intensity. These poor bastards are giving their all. Who will shut down as they are throttled down?

Palmer Lake MP 52:
Victory !! Each car and tonnage come over the top. Field loop cables, if you have them for dynamic braking. If not and you are in IF NOT Mode, stall them over, and make that first set. A good brakeman will get the ones restarted, and back on line, or isolated due to water level. Hey, even at Idle, the compressor is helping with air. Need two to get over Bragdon Hill, yard it and tell the DSF. I have talked to the brakeman over the radio, LOL so restart and place back on line.

WE will make it..Down grade, what I was taught. Not like todays railroading, it is Mommy May I crap. And then it comes down to get it to terminal.

The SD-9’s were a part of my life in railroading. They served me well. :)


ChallengerSeven February 02, 2019

SD's...6-axles...love 'em regardless of roadname! :-)

MageB February 06, 2019

It sounds as if you had a lot of fun with them too.

Brakeshoe Bob MageB ⋅ February 12, 2019

They were old work horses.. Ya would get 'em and grumble.. LOL they got ya over the road. I had the roundhouse..or fuel tracks in Pueblo, fill up a little extra water, and Told 'em. you won't I will ... They were a drag engine.. Get what you are called for

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.