Weather Changes, Self-Care, and the Details of Life in Day by Day

  • Jan. 23, 2019, 10:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We are having a lovely day here in Florida. A gentle breeze, humidity is low, the sun warms the skin, and the soft blue skies are dotted with cloud puffs. It will change in the wee hours of the morning. The big question now is: will we get slapped with the tail end of the current ice storm working its way across the country or will we once again dodge it by less than 50 miles?

Once the rain (and possible tornadoes) passes, the coldest front of the season will blow in. Not enough to cause freezing this far south, just enough to get us all talking about how cold we are and how unusual it is, when this happens EVERY YEAR! I’m just as guilty, and let the entire facebook world know I’m NOT a happy camper!

As non-profit duties fill my hours, I am scheduling downtime into each day for self-care, which can range from a long, hot shower to a power nap to playing a mindless game of solitaire. I don’t do a lot of spa stuff, but do indulge in a monthly pedicure and a haircut every 6 to 8 weeks. I don’t exercise enough, but even going into the garden to pick tomatoes is enough zen to bring my world back in balance. I do this because I have learned, slowly, painfully, that my happiness is my responsibility, not someone else’s. I am learning to be as nice to me as I am to my friends.

I hope you do, too.

The grant check will arrive tomorrow. I’m anxious to start on the next project: building a villa with a Capital Fund drive that we can use to house a person, couple or family at a very affordable rate. It will take several years.

My husband “retired”, which apparently means he works for our son about 35 hours a week now. It’s okay because I never expected him to fully retire and we’re taking more time off later in the year.

We’re booked on flights to Norway and will probably do a meet-up with sis & bro in law this summer. We fly into Oslo for some museums and exploring, then fly to Tromso to see the northern lights (SO EXCITED!), then fly to Bergen to do the tourist thing with a scenic train ride to the sweater factory, then back to Oslo for a few days before flying home.

The relatives are coming down in a steady stream of vacationers, so I have periodic house guests. It usually continues through Easter. I love them and want to see them but usually end up exhausted by the end of the night.

And that’s kind of the highlights of my life since we last talked. I don’t want to talk politics except to say that Trump continues to lose support, despite his obvious attempts to shift blame for closing the government.

Hope all is good in your world!


Shattered January 23, 2019

I would LOVE to see the northern lights some day.

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ January 24, 2019

Come with us!

Shattered ConnieK ⋅ January 24, 2019

That would be an awesome time. :)

Ferret Mom January 24, 2019

I like what you said about happiness being your own responsibility.

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ January 24, 2019

I think it's important for women to remember.

Ferret Mom ConnieK ⋅ January 24, 2019

Yes, it does seem like it is especially important for women to keep in mind.

GypsyWynd January 24, 2019

I saw the Northern Lights once in college. They were beautiful. They'll be even better in Norway.
Accepting that we are responsible for our own happiness is huge. So is realizing that we are not ultimately responsible for anyone else's. Not that we shouldn't be kind, considerate, compassionate, generous, etc., but in the end, their happiness (or misery) is their choice, and not our responsibility. Once I figured that out, and stopped allowing him to make me feel guilty for not making him happy, I was a lot happier and freer (and it was such a relief to let him go).

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ January 24, 2019

Excellent point!

a mote, floating January 24, 2019

Yay for self-care! I started cultivating it in 2011, which I "fondly" refer to as "Hell year" with respect to caregiving. At that time a friend told me, "If you go down, you both go down." Those words are branded on the inside of my skull, and they really helped me during my cancer treatment three years later.

I've lost track of the number of times I've referred people to this self-care article:
https://jenniferhofmann.com/resisting-makes-weary/

Sheriff's office here said we had a "straight-line wind event" in this county early this morning (1/24), severe enough to uproot trees and damage buildings about four miles from us. I didn't see any damage in my neighborhood, but that was pretty close.

ConnieK a mote, floating ⋅ January 24, 2019

Good advice from a smart woman. I liked how she gave suggestions of how to continue to be effective yet allow for downtime.
I'd wondered if you were in the storm's path. I heard it roll in in the wee hours of the morning. Some limbs down, but no serious damage. Glad you are safe.

QueenSuzu January 26, 2019

The Norway trip sounds exciting and I do hope you get to see the northern lights. Are your boys going also?

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ January 26, 2019

The entire family is going: us, the boys, foster daughter, and their partners. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.