overwhelmed! in crawling into 2014.

  • Feb. 14, 2014, 11:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not by anything extreme, mind you, just the quantity of entries that people are writing!!! My bookmarks list gets longer and for every two or three I read, another six appear!! I love the enthusiasm that everyone has for writing again, I'm just sorry that I'm not managing to read you all!

Now, news. Nothing major just an interesting twist of things.

As a few of you know, I was hit up side the head by a particularly viscious case of tonsilitis (which I think is the same thing as strep throat) just after Christmas. I had one and a half weeks of feeling C. R. A. P. and then a week at work while still feeling fairly shite. My energy levels and my body has ached to extremes since then. And I made a radical decision, although it crept up on me gradually, the reality was a decision at approximately 4pm on Monday which I've worked with since.

A couple of weeks ago I started to think about lent. I do have mixed feelings about the whole concept of lent. As someone who was brought up in the Quaker faith I have to question how giving something up for lent makes any difference to anyone else. How does it help others? On the other hand, I have always liked the personal challenge of lent. I have given up chocolate many times, with great success, and so... I was thinking that I should contemplate giving up chocolate again. But my thoughts took me to a scary place.

Perhaps...

Perhaps..?

Perhaps I could go to a whole new level and give up the white powder, although sometimes it's brown. Maybe I could give up refined sugar for lent. And since I was nearly February I could prepare myself. Lent always starts in February... right?

I left it a couple of days before checking my calendar.

4th MARCH! Strove Tuesday is the 4th MARCH! Yeesh! Well, I'm too spontaneous to let a thought like that hover on the periphery for five weeks and this past Monday, at about 4pm, I decided that it was time for sugar to take a hike.

I did some research and discovered that I may suffer from withdrawal symptoms.

aside: scientists are divided over whether sugar is actually addictive or not and whether withdrawal symptoms are suggestive

I had a low level headache for over 24 hours although it seems to have eased off now which hit at about the right time and lasted about as long as was suggested. After the first full day I was exhausted and was asleep by 10, slept until 7am and then only woke because Rich was moving around! Wednesday I was pretty tired but not as much and today I feel the same. As, apparently, a dip in energy levels is normal at the start before they begin to lift up.

I've decided to trial it for three months and am writing a blog to follow that way I feel.

A lot of the research that I have read has suggested that our bodies do not need sugar nearly as much as they need fat. Fat contains more calories by weight than sugar so it has been pounced on as the easy way to lose weight. Most low fat products are filled with sugar and artificial sweetners otherwise they'd taste like cardboard!

And I really like fat! I can snack on nuts and avocado and peanut butter... Mmmm... And I enjoy them (in the long term) more than a handful of sweets or a biscuit. Today I had banana slices with peanut butter on them... drools

Now I'm wittering without direction and so I shall stop! in the name of keepingmyfriends

;-) Ttfn!


Darcy0207 from OD February 14, 2014

guilty as charged - I am writing, and commenting MUCH more than I had on OD for months. I guess it's the novelty... and "meeting" new people.

Deleted user February 14, 2014

:-)

Estoy de acuerdo, mi cuerpo reacciona de la misma manera! Ademas, la grasa de las nueces, etc es muy saludable :-)

:-*

Deleted user February 14, 2014

P.S.- Cual es tu blog?

thesunnyabyss February 14, 2014

I tend to think white sugar is an evil lurking out there, and I try to avoid it, most of the time, except that I bake for the boys with it, they don't mind it, their metabolisms seem to tolerate it much better than mine, lol, good luck,

edna million February 14, 2014

I can't keep up with everybody either! But it's really nice to see so much writing pouring out.

Last year about this time I cut down radically on sugar, and felt SO MUCH BETTER. Sadly I've let my consumption creep back up, so it's time to cut back again. I don't want to say I'm cutting it out because that's the quickest way for me to eat 23 cartons of ice cream at once, but I've found that the less I eat, the less I want. I don't crave it, and I can just eat one cookie, or a half a cookie, and not want any more.

Annoyingly I didn't lose any weight, but my husband (who is already quite thin, annoyingly) realized he'd lost five pounds last summer and couldn't figure out why. Which was a little alarming. He'd been in the habit of eating one of those huge Starbucks chocolate chip cookies every day, and cut back to maybe one a week. They're like 400 calories each, so....yeah, that would do it over a month or two.

edna million February 14, 2014

I can also tell what a massive effect it has on me when I haven't been eating much at all, and then I do eat it. I get a headache, and I get REALLY cranky, pretty much immediately. It is the devil.

ElvenAssassin February 14, 2014

I was very engrossed in that too short entry. You stopped just as you were getting on a roll! Is the journey being blogged here or offsite? I like being able to easily see snippets as people post, but I miss people, like I did you! That I don't like :/

ermentrude ElvenAssassin ⋅ February 14, 2014

It's off-site although I could copy and paste x

LivingWaterCreek February 14, 2014

Another new reader, though I saw your notes frequently at OD. I think I'll follow along for a while, we have some common ground.

First, I am of Reformed faith. Curious if you are still a believer and practicing Quaker belief? Re Lent: I've yet to find anyplace in the Bible that directs us to such activity. For the most part I think many part-time Christians find Lent opportunity to "do" something to feel they actually are living their faith. Enough on that.

I've recently switched to a Ketogenic way, but over the end of 2013 fell hard on the sugars/carbs, so back to adjusting again. I'll be interested to see how this works out for all.

January Child February 14, 2014

Fantastic goal!!! Good for you!

Jack February 14, 2014

I have been thinking about doing a sugar detox....just can't seem to get around to it

~Twinkle~ February 14, 2014

I wish I was strong enough to try this but I like sugary stuff so much, although you have got me thinking about lent and what to give up xx

Life Is For Living February 16, 2014

I missed a day of not reading & then BAM! 25 new entries! Wow. I even keep my list fairly small, compared to some people!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.