No 'lyrics', just a 'lyric' in Testing.... testing... 1, 2, 3...

  • Feb. 13, 2014, 11:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As I continue my transition through the various cliche routine stages in life, I find myself further and further along into the stage of.... old fart who dislikes music teens listen to :P

I don't know what the new craze exactly is, but listening to Hot 95.7 here in Houston I find a particular trend annoying as hell. Here's an example of a song's chorus:

"Are you gonna stay the night? Are you gonna stay the night? Oh, oh, oh, oh, Are you gonna stay the night?"

Really? Then it repeats this chorus who knows how long before the next verse! The song just drags on and on torturously! (I have to listen to it because my wife loves the radio) I can't remember the other songs (thank goodness!) who do this, but why repeat the same line over and over and over again as a chorus? It's like they're brainwashing you to remember the song. I know the Daft Punk "Get Lucky" song repeats over and over again that "we're up all night to get lucky". Pharrell has that "Happy" song repeatedly remind you it's "because I'm happy"

Is this the quality of music going around now? Here's a Lego Movie spoiler real quick so advance to the moral of the story if you don't want to see it: The "Everything is Awesome!" song is purposefully repetitive to indeed brainwash the legos!

moral of the story: To steal an internet meme, it took 5 people to write Justin Bieber's "Baby", 5 to write Miley Cyrus' "We Can't Stop", 9 for "Imma Be" by the Black Eyed Peas, and one person to write "Bohemian Rhapsody" by Queen. Let that sink in! :P

Have a Nice Day!


Deleted user February 13, 2014

Agreed. Music these days are crap. Our music was crap to our parents because it was loud. These kids' music is just crap. Maybe I'll go back to listening to country LOL

shespeaksmetaphors February 14, 2014

Hey! Thanks! I'm hoping to find all of my OD friends on here. I definitely dig this place a lot. And I feel the EXACT same way about the music they play on the radio. Same repetitive track, same lyrics..over and over and over...How is that music. "Excuse me while I repeat my self in excess over a track of music that loops" Guh...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.