england trip #3 -london in The England Chronicles - October 2010

Revised: 01/10/2019 3:09 p.m.

  • Nov. 22, 2010, midnight
  • |
  • Public

This will be mostly pictures because I can’t seem to get around to writing real entries. If I wait till I feel like writing something, I’ll never finish. Too bad I wimped out on NoJoMoWhatever- that would have been just the ticket for producing the required gazillion entries. Oh, well – here’s a bunch of pictures of Tower Bridge and our stroll down the Thames on the other side, as it was getting dark. Pictures are the fun part anyhow.


{and a note to add that I planned to post this last night, and maybe do another installment tonight. Because of course tomorrow we’ll head to A’ville for a very quiet Thanksgiving in which me, my dad and Baker B…. GO TO CRACKER BARREL. No, I’m not kidding. Unfortunately. It’s a result of originally planning to take my dad to Delaware to visit his sister, then realizing at the very last minute how horrendous the traffic would be, thinking, hey, we’ll fly!, then finding that of course fares are twice what they’d be any other time… and just postponing the visit till January. And by then my brother and his family had made other plans, involving my brother and SIL escaping their children for a trip to the beach. So… it’s the three of us. And Daddy is beside himself with delight at the prospect of a Cracker Barrel Thanksgiving. So… yippie. My original point — I couldn’t post this thanks to our idiot internet going down just as I was about to hit save. Maybe I’ll catch up over the weekend. Hahahahaha!}


I always think of this bridge as London Bridge, although I’m pretty certain I also knew better even before seeing it in person. The whole “London Bridge is falling down, falling down, falling down” nursery rhyme just makes you think of THIS kind of gothic, impressive bridge, as opposed to the actual London Bridge which isn’t nearly as breath-taking.
alt text

alt text

It has fantastic views, too. That’s the Tower of London, as viewed from Tower Bridge.

alt text

We planned to come back and go up to the top of the bridge, but never managed to do it.

alt text

We also planned to come back to the neat area on the south bank of the Thames, but we didn’t do that either! Other than to go to the Globe, but didn’t walk down the path by the river like we planned. Oh, well – next time! The evening we crossed Tower Bridge, we walked down to London Bridge so at least we got a little of that side of the river.

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

This one is London Bridge. It actually does look impressive at night, with its fancy light. In the daytime it’s pretty plain.

alt text

Of course it has fantastic views-

alt text

Okay, all for now. Next chapter… one day. Happy Thanksgiving to all the US’ers!


Last updated January 10, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.