1 Tbsp of Medication - 1 Heaping Tbsp of Side Effects in General Mental Anesthesia

  • Jan. 7, 2019, 10:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I started chemotherapy today, man that’s a big word & I don’t mean phonetically.

It’s not radiation therapy, but an infusion to treat extremely severe ulcerative colitis.

For those new and/or not familiar… My Story

Since Humira

(that burning acidic, fiery muck) that I suffered through for months didn’t work, we’re down to this.

So today began in a comfy chair, it really was comfy (tough to get into because of my back) but once in.... ahhhh

I was given some meds to try and prevent the use of the crash cart (to try and treat any potential negative reactions / allergic reactions etc…).

Then the IV

Then the meds…

I tolerated it fairly well. Was lightheaded and nauseous for a while and for several hours I had this searing bolt of pain (migraine type pain) that would flash across my forehead into my eyes but it never developed into a migraine; it just happened like flashes or pulses. I feel ok right now though… colitis and my back aside that is.

I’ve been more than patient while dealing with my disease, nothing has worked which is why I am where I am, but now I’m feeling impatient and of course “IF’ this even works… we’re talking that I might see positive changes in my condition as followed: 17% of people after 6 weeks, and 42 percent after a year.

I’m not a gambling man, but those odds aren’t very good.

I’ve also mentioned this previously; the most common side effects are:

runny nose
sore throat
respiratory infection such as bronchitis or sinus infection
headache
joint pain
nausea
fever
fatigue
cough
flu
back pain
rash or itchy skin

It’s scary to think about seeing as I have the immune system of a dead person and this is yet another autoimmune suppressant. If I get sick, it takes forever for me to get over it, during which time I can’t get the treatment.

With the joint pain I’m already in and the severe injuries to my back; the blood clots in my lungs… it’s all very scary to think about. Particularly…

PML

Progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML) is a serious viral infection of the brain. It typically only happens in people whose immune system isn’t fully functioning.

(Ahem… cough… cough…)

I’m tired, more like 18 trillion levels beyond tired. I really haven’t slept in months, not more than an hour or two per night, that is if I even sleep at all. I’m still not at the point where I can lie down and this sitting up all night is killing me. Anyone want to stop by and read me a bedtime story? Anything by Dr. Seuss is fine. “Fox in Socks, “Yurtle the Turtle” or maybe this one…

At any rate - the fight continues.


Deleted user January 07, 2019

:::hugs:::

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Deleted user ⋅ January 10, 2019

I appreciate that, thank you.

Shattered January 07, 2019

Sending lots of love and many gentle hugs my friend.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Shattered ⋅ January 10, 2019 (edited January 10, 2019)

Edited

Thank you, I can't give or receive real ones, so thank you.

Marg January 08, 2019

I don't know how you've got any strength left TO fight! I really hope you're in that 17% just to give you a break and help you face the future because it must seem beyond bleak right now.

How's your rental situation? Has that settled a bit now?

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ January 10, 2019

Neither do I. I have no strength, physically or mentally... I'm drained and then some.

I hate rentals... Nothing has been fixed, not the mold, not everything else that's broken (that they knew about and said they'd fix). Not the 3 foot deep hole full of water and flooding everything in the front that now stretches under the entire driveway and lawn (a sinkhole in the making).

We just want to get out of here, but no money to move... :/ :(

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ January 10, 2019

Ugh! I hate rentals too.

Leanne 🌈 January 11, 2019

I hope it all is working for you lol man did I read Dr. Seuss to my son.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Leanne 🌈 ⋅ January 17, 2019

Dr. Seuss & Shel Silverstein were the best parts of my childhood.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.