Sad times. in A small but passable life.

  • Jan. 7, 2019, 11:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The three week long visit from my daughter ended yesterday. I dropped her off at the airport after we went through the drive-thru at In and Out. She said she’d had a good visit. We did manage to go for another fairly long hike. We did the Coffee Flat Trail. Or at least a good chunk of it. We left the trailhead at 11am and hiked in 5 or 6 miles and then turned around and hiked back out. We were back at the car at 4pm. It was a stroll compared to the last hike. And the new boots performed perfectly fine.

Now I will be returning to my usual routine, starting with afternoons at the pool now that it looks like “winter” is over. Highs this coming week will be in the seventies.

Daughter and I had gone to the thrift store to look for her a bag to check after filling it with everything she’d gathered while she was here; books, crafting stuff, those other new boots I’d given up on, and a metal crown she’d found half buried by that homeless camp. And while we were there she found a nice backgammon set for $2.50. The only thing missing was one dice cup. A very nice find. I found a Sierra Trading Post 100% cotton long sleeve shirt. It is an actual desert shirt with a vented back and buttons to hold the sleeves when they are rolled up. The only possible negative is that it is a size XXL. Very baggy may be good though when it is over 100 degrees. We’ll see.

I brought that new blanket we bought for daughter to use while she was here out here and put it on my bed. I washed the two fleece throws and my old yellow knit blankie. I folded the throws and stashed them away. I left my blankie on top. Now I have a new mattress, new sheet set, new pillow, and a new real nice regular blanket. I slept really good last night.


woman in the moon January 07, 2019

I'm glad the books work. I hope your daughter can come visit again soon.

Deleted user January 07, 2019

Glad you had a good visit with your daughter ! Enjoy the pool and your bed !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.