Teaching myself :-) in Things that matter

  • Aug. 26, 2013, 11:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a goal of teaching myself some of the major programming languages :-) I took an introduction to programming class as one of my college classes. I aced it, and I loved it!! For those that know anything about programming classes, we just learned using Alice. Alice was created in part by Randy Pausch (his "Last Lecture" was amazing), and I believe developed at MIT. My memory on that may be incorrect, BUT the point of that was.. I did understand the terminology and process involved to write basic programs! I enjoyed it, and it appeals strongly to my desire for perfection. There is a very highly rated website that allows you to learn many programming languages, at your own pace. I've been working on Python :-) I'm only 5% into it, but it's SUPER simple at this point...lol. Once I've learned a few languages, there are real life simulations for you to work on, to test your programming abilities. From what I understand.. if you complete all the work on the website, and it becomes easy for you, you are essentially at entry level for a programming job. I plan to learn several, and then try to find a telecommuting job as a programmer :-) That would allow our Texas move to occur MUCH more quickly :-) If you guys have any suggestions for what I should learn after Python, I'd love to hear them :-)


Echo August 26, 2013

I have no suggestions, but I wish you luck!

Chaosindreams August 26, 2013

Awesome!!!

simple mind September 01, 2013

How about Django? That's the web framework I wrote Prosebox in, and it's all Python. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.