The Crimes of Capsule & GI in General Mental Anesthesia

  • Jan. 3, 2019, 6:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Long day.

I spoke to my GI’s office first thing & explained to them (I guess that’s putting it mildly) about the certified letter I received stating that I was denied chemotherapy for my severe & chronic ulcerative colitis.

They told me to keep my infusion appointment for tomorrow because my situation is literally life and death, and that they would handle it immediately.

Whatever…

I had a Dr’s appointment after that & then when I got out, my GI’s office called me. They said: You’re approved, we fixed the issue, but we can’t get the medicine in time for your infusion tomorrow; it’ll have to be Monday. So much for ‘urgent’.

Now, I’m confused. I guess I’ll still be starting the chemo, but to be honest… I’m really not 100% sure. Maybe yes? Maybe no? I suppose I’ll find out on Monday. I just don’t have any trust with anyone anymore. I certainly don’t want to get a bill in the mail for $15,000!

Now there’s another complication. I had been given a small amount of Prednisone which is the only reason I’m not writing this from the hospital right now, but believe me; things are still so bad that I contemplate going to the ER every day. Since the infusion is pushed back, I don’t have enough medication. I called my primary care and she didn’t write the prescription because my pharmacy never texted me. She’s nice, but scared of her own shadow when it comes to writing prescriptions. She’s certainly not helping me.

First of all, I just need to start the chemo (hope that it works (which will take at least 6 weeks before I notice anything, that is if it even has a positive effect)) and I just need to have enough prednisone to get through that period. That’s it! I can’t wean off now and I definitely can’t stop abruptly. The process has to be slooowwww.... After 26+ years… I know what the hell I’m talking about!

Another thing that bothers me. I NEED to be on a good probiotic, I mentioned this recently on here I think. I ‘should’ be taking VSL #3 (4/day) if you know anything about it, yes, that’s a tremendous amount, but that’s how sick I am. VSL #3 is an ulcerative colitis specific probiotic, but I can’t afford it, it’s very expensive. Enter Saccharomyces Bulardii; a decent second option at a 3rd the cost, I need to take 2 / day. I specifically need it because I’m on c-diff watch as I recently finished multiple rounds of antibiotics and I have a history of c-diff.

Now, I’ve taken this before, but the bottle I just received… the capsules are only 3/4 the way full (many of them only half full). Where the hell is the quality control??? I’ve already written them a strongly worded letter.

How would you feel if you opened a bottle of capsules (any kind, vitamin, supplement etc…) and you saw this?

Disappointed. :/

.

BTW… I was on top of it right away, but I wanted to say: “Thank You” for the messages about what to do regarding this screw up with my GI. I’ll have to call them tomorrow about prednisone as I evidently can’t rely on my primary care. I appreciate the help and support!


Shattered January 03, 2019

Fingers crossed for you.

Marg January 03, 2019

The infusion sounds like a yes to me - I hope so anyway. The capsule thing is crazy - or I wonder if the contents just didn't fit into a smaller capsule or something?

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ January 08, 2019

I always wonder that, I'd much rather take a smaller pill if I had a choice.

Mystery January 03, 2019

Really hope the infusions help! Those are big capsules, too.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Mystery ⋅ January 08, 2019

They are indeed. Thank you, fingers crossed!

DefyingRules January 03, 2019

Idiot doctor-it’s a much worse idea to make you go cold turkey on prednisone than to worry about prescribing it to you again! It’s not like it’s a hard core pain killer-it’s keeping you alive! I’d love to bang her head against a wall till she gets it. Dumb.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes DefyingRules ⋅ January 08, 2019

I've dealt with Prednisone withdrawal... it's a whole new kind of hell. Even on it, I have adrenal issues, severe and chronic fatigue etc...

Leanne 🌈 January 03, 2019

Way to many fools out there with a freaking MD attached to their names. I hope the infusion helps you out about the tablets no surprise they are screwed up typical BS. When ya mentioned a strongly written letter I had to LOL you reminded me of Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Leanne 🌈 ⋅ January 08, 2019

I don't watch that show, so I'll have to take your word on it. I'm quite good at them though, I'll say that much.

Tempestuous1 January 04, 2019

I am so tired of hearing about bad things happening to good people. Yes, I know life isn't fair, but so many bad people seem to go "un-checked". I'm so sorry you have to deal this.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Tempestuous1 ⋅ January 08, 2019

same here, an all too common theme now a days unfortunately.

Gilraent January 05, 2019

wtf is up with those pills? oh I would be pissed. The stuff isn't cheap! Jeez!
Sending healing light to you, my friend.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Gilraent ⋅ January 08, 2019

No, it isn't, esp the 180 count.

What are we paying for these days?

Gilraent Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ January 08, 2019

I don't know, man. After seeing this, I've been looking at my supplements that I take. If I find even one I'm calling customer service.

lol Pam hates when I call business customer service to complain. She's still blaming me for shutting down a Sonic. I called to bitch, the next week they were closed lol

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Gilraent ⋅ January 10, 2019

It's ridiculous. Money doesn't grow on trees and when people pay for this stuff, there's an expectation to be met. I thought I was good at this stuff, you may have me beat, lol.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.