The required end of year 2018 survey. in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Dec. 31, 2018, 12:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What did you do in 2018 that you’d never done before?
Gave up a job without another one to go to…

Did you keep your New Year’s resolution, and will you make one for next year?
I still don’t make new years resolutions - if I want to make a change, I make a change without the need to wait for a specific date.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
My cousin’s wife gave birth to a kid who’s name sounds like a National Trust house.

Did anyone close to you die?
Not this year but yesterday a local celebrity, harmonica playing busker died. He’s looked 150 since I moved here 19 years ago so I assumed he was immortal. Town will be very strange without him.

What countries did you visit?
Same as last year again, Wales! I really could do with going abroad again.

What would you like to have in 2019 that you lacked in 2018?
Stability and mental health health help for T.

What date from 2018 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
None which means nothing horrific happened.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Having my old boss come and ask me to come back to work several weeks after leaving. I must have done something right!

What was your biggest failure?
Not having enough patience with T when she has bad several days.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
My September half marathon was affected by six weeks of shin splints followed by six weeks of a viral chest infection. I just couldn’t shake it!!

What was the best thing you bought?
New glow plugs for the car - it starts like a dream again 😍

Whose behavior merited celebration?
L who had carried on going to school with little complaint even though T isn’t. It must be really tough for her, in fact I know it is because we’ve talked about it.

Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
The Orange Fart and Theresa May-Not. Both appalling politicians.

What did you get really, really excited about?
Home schooling. And meeting Anna and Joel of Handmade Moments when I went all fan girl 😍😍

What song will always remind you of 2018?
Songs don’t stay in my mind as signifying a year or era like they did in my teens/twenties. This year, though, I’ve been learning all of Taylor’s repertoire and back catalogue in order to be able have conversations with T.

Compared to last year, are you:
-happier or sadder? Sadder. It’s been an incredibly hard year
-thinner or fatter? I reached about a stone (14lbs) heavier than usual but some of that has gone.
-richer or poorer? I gave up my job to homeschool. Currently poorer by a lot!

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Having patience with T. It isn’t her fault.

How will you be spending Christmas?
This year we had a quiet Christmas at home.

What was the most embarrassing thing that happened to you in 2018?
I don’t embarrass easily - I’m sure I remember feeling intensely embarrassed though I don’t know why 😊😂

Did you fall in love in 2018?
Every day with my husband.

How many one-night stands?
There’s nothing wrong with imagination…

What was your favorite TV programme?
Many - loving The Good Place and the last season of Big Bang - I do feel that it’s ready to end. Desperately awaiting a new series of Life in Pieces.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t last year?
I don’t do hate, though the woman taken on to replace me in my job is a woman I’ve only met twice before and both times she really, really wound me up. It takes a lot for me to feel that way but agh, Grrrrr!!! And talking to one of my ex colleagues who didn’t know her is already irritated by her and she hasn’t even started yet!

What was the best book you read?
I’m trying to remember all the books… I’m reading my first John Green and he’s an incredible author. Such great use of language.

What was your greatest musical discovery?
Florida Georgia Line. One of T’s favourite bands. I really like their sound and I used to live near the florida Georgia line so there’s a nice link too.

What did you want and get?
Homeschooling T.

What did you want and not get?
A new kitchen 😂

What was your favorite film this year?
The Nutcracker and the Four Realms. The only drawback was that I invited friends instead of going alone. They chatted during it and made comments that sort of deadened the magic for me. And they left before the end of the credits. Who does that?! There may be an extra bit of movie…

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
48. T and I went to my favourite coffee place and L made a victoria sponge cake for me 😋

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2018?
What fits - I’m not buying bigger clothes because it’s temporary… Breathing is optional right..?!

What kept you sane?
Running. Without it I become incredibly negative and I struggle to come up for air.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy most?
Hugh Jackman in The Greatest Showman. PHWOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRR HUBBA HUBBA HUBBA!!!

What political issue stirred you the most?
Brexit - I’m watching my country self destruct, I’m seeing prices rise to the point that feeding one’s family is becoming prohibitive.

Who did you miss?
I really could have done with my mum this year. She’d have had the advice to keep me going.

Who was the best new person you met?
Not met but got to know - the teacher I’ve worked with. An amazing person who is always calm externally even when the insides are about to implode in work situations.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
More support for T, a school system that works and a mental health department with enough funding to help all the kids being effed up by the antiquated education system.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2018:
if you want it, you can make it happen.

Tell us something you’ve learned about yourself:
My body doesn’t react to life the same way as it used to… I may need to focus more on yoga!

If you could relive any day from 2018, which would it be and why?
Seeing Handmade Moments alone and chatting with Anna.

Did any of your predictions for the future come true in 2018?
School not improving for T and homeschooling.

What was the funniest thing that happened to you (or the funniest thing you did) this year?
Oh bloody hell, I don’t know!! Lots of giggles with R and the girls.

What was the worst thing that happened to you this year?
Realise how bad the mental health services are.

What was the best thing that happened to you this year?
Al the support I’ve had from everyone regarding homeschooling.

What was the hardest thing you did this year?
Finishing the half marathon. Up to ten miles was fine but beyond was pure agony!

A new food that you were introduced to:
I Would love to try new foods and discover new flavours but I’m not sure there’s much, if anything, left.

What traditions were started?
No idea…

What traditions were broken?
Girlie nights. Having a 10 year old and a 13 year old means there’s a gap in movies they like so they alternate choosing and the other one does something else now.

If you could sum up 2018 in three words, what would they be?
Do hyphens count..? Bloody-heartbreaking, soul-destroyingly-frustrating, a-new-start.


thesunnyabyss December 31, 2018

girlie nights, so jealous, lol, I never got to have girlie nights, LOL

here's to a better 2019, much love to you and yours!!!!

ソフィア December 31, 2018

It is not her fault, but it isn’t yours either. You’re only human. Don’t forget to be compassionate with yourself as well ❤️ Let’s kick 2019 in the butto, gurl ❤️❤️❤️

ermentrude ソフィア ⋅ December 31, 2018

I read butto as burrito... I think I fancy Mexican food! Xx

northern lights January 01, 2019

My cousin’s wife gave birth to a kid who’s name sounds like a National Trust house. < I have to know what the name is 😂

Happy new year - hope 2019 is a bit more smooth!

Deleted user January 02, 2019

Wishing for a much easier year now for you and yours !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.