Impractical Jokers in Testing.... testing... 1, 2, 3...

  • Feb. 12, 2014, 10:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My buddies and I absolutely love the show 'Impractical Jokers'! We think it's hilarious and are often laughing throughout an entire episode. For those who haven't watched it, it's about 4 life-long buddies. They compete in different scenarios where one friend is set up in a public place and has to do and say anything the other 3 buddies tell him to. If he doesn't, then he loses the round. We used to do stuff like that when we were younger so we love it!

One of my best buds since high school, Marc, recently broke up with his girlfriend of 4+ years. He was supposed to be the next of us to get married. Out of my groomsmen in my wedding in 2012, everyone predicted he'd be next. I was hanging out with him to help him get through it, and we were reminiscing over old times we've spent as each other's wingman at bars/clubs

Which had us laughing about our first year at community college. Fresh out of high school, we were new to a college campus scene. Lots of beautiful girls walking around with lots of free time between classes! It's different from grade school, not the same people in the same building with the same teachers. So we were experimenting with how to approach these random girls we know nothing about with no similar class, teacher, or friends, to use. So we were figuring out the art of breaking the ice!

Except we were idiots, we were (and still are actually) not subtle and relied on ridiculous, sarcastic or self-depricating humor in nervous situations. This has always helped us stick out from other guys. So back then, with 3-4 hours between classes, we would take turns sending the other guy to a targeted girl with a dumb line to say. And each day we would continue that game until one of us gets a number

So we were joking about those days, and I remember one line he gave me to say that stuck out to me. He had me go to a girl, who we didn't know had two guy friends with her, to say a ridiculous line. And those two guys were huge gym rat type guys. I forgot the exact line, but it involved me pointing out how tight her jeans are on her and how everyone could see her cameltoe through it. Haha, yes that was my icebreaker to use. I think at the time we were still laughing about the character on Conan O'Brien's talk show called 'Cameltoe Annie'

Anyways, needless to say I didn't get her number. But I didn't get my ass kicked by her two guy friends nor did she slap me! They actually all laughed and I joked with them for a bit, then we went our separate ways

That was back in 2001-2002, so don't worry our routine significantly improved over the years! Prior to dating my wife, we'd be at a bar and I'd walk up to two girls and I'd say, "Hey, have you heard?" and when they reply, "Heard what?", Marc would spring in and sing "the bird is the word!" with a dance routine and then walk off. Then I'd apologize for his stupidity, converse with them and bring him over to join. That routine was gold at the time!

moral of the story: An ice breaker is like a resumee to an employer, a quick attention grabber that if done well will get you an interview. After that it's all on you!

Have a Nice Day!


Deleted user February 12, 2014

HAHA You guys were SO CORNY!!! I love it! :D

Foley is Good! Deleted user ⋅ February 13, 2014

Corny? What?! I would say we were more 'suave and debonaire'.... Yeah ok we were corny... but we had no shame in our game!

Okay there was some shame, but we were just happy to be in the game :P

Have a Nice Day!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.