New job! Taking bets on how long it will last... in The Mundane Ramblings of an Insane Mind

  • Dec. 22, 2018, 10:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not known for longevity when it comes to jobs. So far this year, I’ve already had 3 jobs…

  1. BC Tire. Think I started there last July. Got fired in January for BS reasons.
  2. Aptive Environmental. Worked there from May through August. Best parts of the job were.. having my own company vehicle, big bonuses, and tips. Got laid off.. I’m pretty sure because I was too slow.
  3. Can’t even remember the name of the company, but I lasted two weeks. Made $1,000/wk. but having cockroaches crawl all over me wasn’t worth it. Got fired for… being slow.

Oh wait.. there’s also Fedex. Went through the application process, driving test, drug test, complete physical. Then 5 days of training, only to be told, “We hired too many drivers. There’s not enough work right now. We’ll call you when we’re busier.” At least I didn’t get fired. Or did I? It’s okay, making 190 stops per day was insane. The first lady I trained with SPRINTED to every house, but got her route done in 5 hours!

Then I worked for Lyft. Pretty good money there, but putting a lot of miles on my own car.

And, still doing eBay on the side.

On November 29th, I found a job on Craigslist and responded to the ad. Didn’t hear back after a couple of days… forgot about it.

Received a call last Friday, went in to meet the guy. Started the next day.

There’s a limo in my driveway right now. I wonder what the neighbors think. It’s got NY Livery plates on it, and I live in NJ.

It’s not a stretch limo… but it’s a decent black Lincoln Town Car. I’m getting to know NY pretty well, which is funny, because I’ve avoided it all my life.

I’ll work my way up to the stretch limos and party buses. Along the way, I’ll get my CDL with passenger endorsement, and TLC license. My best tip so far was $70. The ad said $1,000/wk. The first two days I made $340 including tips. This week has been slow, mainly because people keep canceling last minute. I’m taking six people tomorrow night, in a Lincoln Navigator, from Staten Island to Manhattan, and back again 4 hours later. I found out I had taken some of them the previous week, and they specifically requested I be their driver for this trip. That feels good. Also found out I beat out 8 other people for this position. I must be doing something right.

My boss is super nice and down to earth. A customer spewed in the back of the limo on my 2nd night out.. he made sure I got an extra $25 tip out of it. He pays for gas and tolls. I get to take the car home most nights, and I get 100% of the tips.

The only downsides so far… having to drive in New York (but I’m getting used to it), and it’s mandatory to work on New Year’s Eve.. but I do get Christmas off.

At least I don’t have cockroaches crawling on me.


Deleted user December 27, 2018

I'll bet you end up with some interesting passengers along the way. Best of luck to you with your new job!

IllegalAlias Deleted user ⋅ December 27, 2018

I'm hoping to get a celebrity soon. According to my boss, it's happened a few times.

I got stiffed last night. But my boss said, "Oh, that's one of my corporate accounts. I'll make sure you get the return trip, and tell him he has to tip you, at least $20 for each ride."

He's also sending a stretch limo on Saturday for my daughter's birthday, just so she can ride around a bit.. for FREE.

And.. thanks!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.