I'm Already There. in Usual Shenanigans

  • Feb. 11, 2014, 11:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been living a lie for the last thirteen months in real life. I told my parents that I was still in school for court reporting, then had an internship for court reporting, then got a job offer for court reporting down at the federal court house down in Minneapolis.

Why did I do it? It was only supposed to be one small lie, that I was in a faster speed class and then it just got bigger and bigger and it just snowballed. The first lie was I was still in school and the reason I made that one? Because at the time I didn't think I was strong enough if I told my parents that I didn't want to continue with court reporting and they said that I should continue on, I wouldn't be able to tell them no. That it wasn't what I wanted.

I finally came clean to my parents on Wednesday and I'm happy that it's out but at the same time, I'm in the everyone's hurt and disappointed and I'm having to make a lot of amends stage and it sucks.

I'm telling you guys I'm sorry and asking for forgiveness as well, because I know I haven't been truthful about my school and career here either.

What are my plans now you may ask? Well I want to get into management and possibly franchise my own coffee shop or little restaurant. So I have applied to Caribou Coffee, Panera Bread & then a froyo place called Cherry Berry, I'm really hoping I get an interview at Cherry Berry, because they have the best options for my plans and dreams. I'm not opposed to moving away either, as I was tell several people yesterday, I would miss my family something fierce, but I'M A PEACOCK YA GOTTA LET ME FLY! (that is totally a movie quote btdubs) and I've got severe wanderlust.

Please don't be too hard on me.

Love to you all!

Meghan.


theocean. February 11, 2014

I think it's a common things for a lot of us that there's a point or two in our writing that's a bit vague for whatever reason it may be. I'm glad you told your parents because I'm sure it was a lot on your chest, but let it be behind you and keeping on moving forward, :).

anyahs February 11, 2014

Ahhhhh the wanderlust killlls me, I'm dying to be in Hawaii. It's like a 24/7 365days a year day-dream I can't quite step out of. I know Josh and I will get there someday, our goal is basically within the next 5 years, but I just want it NOW NOW NOW haha.

I'm glad you're finally being honest with your family/friends but most importantly with YOURSELF!! It's good to finally take a step back and look at your life and be like, "Okay, seriously, what am I doing?" Good luck with your future journies... anything you truly want to do, CHASE THAT DREAM!

<33

.Java.Junkie. February 13, 2014

I think there is a point in life where as young adults you feel like your parents need to "cut the cord" so to speak && you also feel that you do not want to disappoint them in your choices so you felt telling a little white lie would appease them and in reality it ended up being a few other lies along with it! Your parents may be disappointed BUT they will get over it! ::hugs::

thegirlwithin February 13, 2014

It can be tough when you fear disappointing the ones you love. I'm really glad you finally told them. I firmly believe life is too short to make choices that don't make you happy.

Invictus February 15, 2014

I hate disappointing my parents so I can definitely empathize with this.Just consider it a learning experience.also,don't be afraid to always do what makes you happy...everything else will work itself out.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.