A Tutor in Public

  • Dec. 11, 2018, 5:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

About a year ago I completed my course work for my Masters of Education. I kept right on subbing in NH because we knew we were moving and I didn’t feel like dealing with the DoE to get certified when that certification wouldn’t transfer for Florida.

9 months later I’m still not certified in Florida. I didn’t really rush to get anything done before the start of the school year because I knew I was having surgery and wouldn’t be cleared to work until December and so I only submitted my information in October.

However, I’m bored senseless right now and I would love to have some kind of teaching/educating job in the new year, even if it’s just part-time while I wait to hear from the DoE.

I applied to several positions late last week and actually interviewed at The Boys and Girls Club as an after-school educational instructor. Haven’t heard about that, and probably won’t until the new year. Then, on Friday, I got a call from an in-home tutoring company that I applied with and they seemed interested but no formal interview was arranged. I got a call this morning for a meeting this afternoon and there I got hired (!!!). I was so confused as I didn’t think I’d had an interview but apparently due to my degress (BA in American History and Literature) and the fact that I mentioned I was interested in teaching social sciences, the head guy wanted me for a 9th grader who is struggling. I’d be working with him for his AP Human Geography class, 2 hours a week, every week, for the rest of the school year (or until his grades improve, I guess). The pay is $20.00 an hour which is awesome if you ask me.

I leave for PA on Friday morning but his midterm is next week so it looks like the parents want to have 2-2 hour sessions this week (Wednesday and Thursday). I’m pretty excited. I even picked up some of those AP study guides at Barnes and Noble today. It’s been a good long while since I studied Human Geography and I definitely need to refresh my brain before my first session tomorrow evening.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.