Do something for somebody every day for which you do not get paid. ~Albert Schweitzer in Life is just a bowl of... everything

  • Feb. 11, 2014, 8:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think the first thing I started collecting was quotes, I just love the wisdom one gets from reading them. I was maybe 15 at the time I started reading and saving them and they are spread all over, from worn and tattered notebooks and one old dilapidated laptop to another. Thus the reason for my titles in this new diary.

When Easy Diary opens, I will check it out. I'm liking PB other than the fact that HTML is a no no and finding that having an ongoing conversating in notes is tricky and beyond me at this point. I am most grateful to our new diary master for providing a new place for us to write and for giving us the opportunity to meet up with and keep the wonderful friends we met on OD. There are parts of this new setup that I really like such as the bookmark feature and I give our DM credit for being as involved as she is. Someone told me it is a she, so.. good on you MS. DM. you rock, thank you for being here for us.

So, I was gone from writing in OD for six years. I did write the the eight years before that, four years as lulu woohoo and four years as lulu. To those who kept at it, wow, I'm really impressed at your stamina. I apologize for my lack in keeping up, my life took a turn that I found almost overwhelming To those friends who never judged me for this lack, thank you, that means a lot to me. It was never about how I felt about my friends here, my love for you will always remain in my heart of hearts.

Mama bought me a new puter for my birthday this past December. I had always wanted a Dell laptop and I always wanted to buy it at Costco because of their great return policy. So there we went and there I did get my new Dell. Brought it home and took a few days to get it set up, long enough for me to not want to return it with my footprint all over it. My opinion of windows 8 or 8.1 is it basically sucks. Win 7 is so much more comprehensible. Right from the start I felt that this system just makes it easier to be spied on. On day two or three, I downloaded my favorite spyware program to it, malwarebytes and lo and behold, it had over 300 malicious virus' on it!!! This pup. virus was all over it. I called Dell tech and ended up talking to two different guys located in the Philippines who turned out to be very helpful in removing these after hours of being on the phone with them. So, after this horrific experience, if you get a computer with win 8 on it, do yourself a favor and dl a antimalware program to it first thing.

I overheard that this winter is breaking records of either the most snow or the coldest that we've had since 1908!! The TV drones on in the background and I didn't hear the whole report but usually winter doesn't bother me, I prefer it to the hot days of summer, but this year, not so much.

Another quote in closing:

It's your outlook on life that counts. If you take yourself lightly and don't take yourself too seriously, pretty soon you can find the humor in our everyday lives. And sometimes it can be a lifesaver. ~Betty White


seafarer February 11, 2014

I ordered a new Dell last month and it is suppose to be here tomorrow... I wanted Win 7 and knew I had to get it while it was still available... I use AVG (free) virus protection. Malwarebytes anti-malware (free) and SUPERAntiSpyware (free)

I've been collecting quotes for over 30 years... always put one at the end of my entries. too

lulu seafarer ⋅ February 12, 2014

You were probably wise to stick with win 7 as win 8 is a nuisance as far as I'm concerned. I think I got all those virus' when I dl'ed win 8.1.. Love both of the programs that you use, I do also.

Thomas February 17, 2014

What chance do we have when even big Corperationsn get infected.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.